View this email in your browser

Dear Colleagues,
Today’s message is about congratulations!
This Friday we should have been planning to gather in Light Hall to recognize our annual faculty award winners. Given the constraints of social distancing, the event has been cancelled, but we still have great cause to celebrate the exceptional faculty who work in our Department of Medicine! 

Please offer your congratulations when you “see” these individuals, either in person or on Zoom!

Recipient of the JOHN T. TARPLEY AWARD for Commitment to Care of Underserved Communities:

Adetola Kassim, MBBS, MS, Professor of Medicine. Dr. Kassim, an internationally known expert on sickle cell disease, is being honored for his commitment to improving the lives of patients as a physician, researcher, educator, and humanitarian supporting global health missions, specifically for patients with sickle cell disease. The award is named for John T. Tarpley, MD, Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology, emeritus, who has trained surgeons and provided surgical care in Africa for more than four decades.

Recipient of the GRANT W. LIDDLE AWARD for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Research:

Leora Horn, MD, MSc, Ingram Associate Professor of Cancer Research and Associate Professor of Medicine. Horn is being recognized for her outstanding contributions to clinical and translational investigation aimed at improving outcomes for patients with lung cancer as well as her strong commitment to training the next generation of clinical investigators. The award is named for the late Grant W. Liddle, MD, an internationally known endocrinologist and clinical researcher who chaired the Department of Medicine from 1968 to 1983.

Recipient of the CHARLES R. PARK AWARD for Basic Research Revealing Insights into Physiology and Pathophysiology:

David Harrison, MD, the Betty and Jack Bailey Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology and Physiology, and Director of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology. Harrison is being honored for the breadth of his discoveries during the past 30-plus years that have helped define the immune and molecular contributors to altered vascular function in hypertension, including the role of highly reactive biomolecules called isolevuglandins. The award is named for the late Charles R. “Rollo” Park, MD, a pioneering diabetes researcher who chaired the Department of Physiology at Vanderbilt from 1952 to 1984.


Recipient of the ELAINE SANDERS-BUSH AWARD for Mentoring Graduate and/or Medical Students in the Research Setting:

Marie Griffin, MD, MPH, Professor of Health Policy and Medicine and holder of the Endowed Directorship in Public Health Research and Education. Dr. Griffin is a general internist and pharmacoepidemiologist whose research interests include safety and effectiveness of drugs and vaccines, program evaluation, and methods in pharmacoepidemiology. 


Recipients of the DENIS M. O’DAY AWARD for Team-Implemented Curriculum Reform:

William Cutrer, MD, MEd, Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Anesthesiology

Kimberly Dahlman, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine

Lourdes Estrada, PhD, Associate Professor of Biochemistry

Matthew Weinger, MD, MS, the Norman Ty Smith Professor of Patient Safety and Medical Simulation and Professor of Anesthesiology, Biomedical Informatics, Medical Education and Administration

Saralyn Williams, MD, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Medicine, and Pediatrics

Cutrer, Dahlman, Estrada, Weinger, and Williams were recognized for their design and implementation of the innovative Immersion Phase of Curriculum 2.0 that is transforming medical education at Vanderbilt. The award is named for the late Denis M. O’Day, MD, former chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, who founded and directed the Emphasis Program of self-directed study at VUSM.
We should be immeasurably proud that our department was represented with award winners for the full spectrum of academic life at Vanderbilt University Medical Center: Education and Training, Clinical Mission, Clinical Research, and Basic Science Research.



Mission Statement

Our Mission is to inspire interest in the prevention of disease and the promotion of human health, to cultivate biomedical discovery, and educate tomorrow's leaders for internal medicine. We especially seek those physicians who provide compassionate care while translating new knowledge into meaningful improvements in health outcome.

This application of science to medicine is enhanced by interdisciplinary collaboration, fiscal responsibility, advancement of social and intellectual diversity, commitment to self-learning, and a professionalism dedicated to teamwork and collegiality. These values promote the best interests of internal medicine at Vanderbilt and further strengthen our social contract with the community we serve.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Vanderbilt University Medical Center DOM · 1161 21st Ave S · D-3100 Mcn · Nashville, TN 37232-0011 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp