Discover the winners of Wordharvest's two signature awards. 

2013 and 2014 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference

Thanks to all who attended the 2013 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference. Save the date for next year: The 2014 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference will be at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza November 6-8. 

CB McKenzie Wins 2013 Tony Hillerman Prize

At the Tony Hillerman Writers Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico, Wordharvest Writers Workshops and Thomas Dunne Books/ Minotaur Books announced that CB McKenzie’s Bad Country has won the Tony Hillerman Prize.

A native Texan, CB McKenzie (pictured above, center) has hiked the entire Appalachian Trail without stopping, modeled for Giorgio Armani, worked on an organic farm, earned a Ph.D. from the University of Arizona, and currently teaches Rhetoric at the City University of New York.

The winning novel, Bad Country, is a plot-driven mystery set in Arizona. The novel has several interrelated crimes, the solutions to which are central to the action of the book. The replacement of an Old Country with a new one is also a subtle but central part of the ambience of this western noir novel whose protagonist is Rodeo Grace Garnet. Though not meant intentionally as homage, Rodeo Grace remains much a “Hillerman” man. Stuck between the two worlds of Native American and Anglo, Rodeo is an Indian raised as a cowboy, a product of an insular “Rez” culture who has seen the broader world and is trying to find his place in a new society as he struggles to maintain ties with his roots.  
The Tony Hillerman Prize is awarded annually to a best first mystery set in the Southwest. Previous winners include Andrew Hunt’s City of Saints; Tricia Fields’ The Territory; Roy Chaney’s The Ragged End of Nowhere; and Christine Barber’s The Replacement Child.  

The deadline for submissions to next year's competition is June 1, 2014. 

Mary-Charlotte Domandi Earns Leaphorn Award  

The 2013 Leaphorn Award was presented to radio personality Mary-Charlotte Domandi (pictured above center) for her work in promoting authors and reading. The award was given at the Tony Hillerman Writers Conference on Nov. 9th in Santa Fe, at the Santa Fe Hilton. Watch a video of the presentation

"For more than 10 years, Domandi has featured authors among the guests on her popular Radio Cafe broadcast, which can be heard daily on KSFR radio and over the web. Her thoughtful interviews have added to the information about New Mexico's literary world and encouraged readers to reach out to material they might not have discovered otherwise," WORDHARVEST co-founder Anne Hillerman said. "We are delighted to have an opportunity honor her."

Previous honorees are Dorothy Massey, Mary Wolf and Collected Works Bookstore of Santa Fe (2012); and Barbe Awalt and Paul Rhetts of the New Mexico Book Co-op (2011). Named after Tony Hillerman's legendary Navajo detective, the award honors those who struggle through dead ends and obstacles to contribute to the world of readers and authors. "Just as Joe Leaphorn never gave up on a case, Mary-Charlotte continues to work tirelessly to help our state's writers and publishers receive the recognition they deserve," Hillerman said.

You're Invited: NMBA Holiday Fiesta, Co-Sponsored by Wordharvest

This yearly holiday gathering includes people in several New Mexico book and publishing groups. Please join use at The Lodge at Santa Fe, just off N. St. Francis Dr., Thursday, December 5 from 5:30 to 8 p.m. The $15 admission includes substantial hors d'oeuvres and non-alcoholic beverages. The Richard Harris Award and Book-in-Hand Honor will be presented at this New Mexico Book Association Event. Please RSVP with Stephanie Hiller,, (505) 660-6357.

Congrats to the New Mexico Book Award Winners!

We're proud that these award winners are Hillerman Writers Conference faculty and/or attendees. 

Fiction - Mystery/Suspense
The Lone Wolf Agenda, by Joseph Badal

Fiction - Other
When the Devil Doesn't Show, by Christine Barber

Travel Book
Tony Hillerman's Landscapes: Southwest Guide & Map, by Anne Hillerman and Don Strel

Best Cover Design - small format book
Voices of New Mexico, Too, by Paul Rhetts & Barbe Awalt

Tony Hillerman Award for Best Fiction
Bone Horses, by Lesley Poling Kempes
A Growing Season, by Sue Boggio and Mare Pearl

Best New Mexico Book
When the Devil Doesn't Show, by Christine Barber
Copyright © 2013 Wordharvest Writers Workshops, All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp