Small Press Network update
Small Press Network

24 November 2015

The Grapple Annual No. 1 is Officially the Best Book You've Probably Never Heard About!

The Small Press Network is thrilled to announce that editor Duncan Felton has won the fourth annual Most Underrated Book Award (MUBA) for the anthology The Grapple Annual No. 1.

The Grapple Annual is the flagship publication from Grapple Publishing, an independent Canberra-based publisher, founded by Felton in 2013.

The three MUBA judges – a book blogger, reviewer and culture critic – praised Grapple’s innovation in showcasing over 40 contributing writers and artists, in a bold calendar-based anthology that celebrates our emerging arts community.
In a speech given on the night that spoke to the theme of ‘underrated’, Felton celebrated literary journals, which he described as, ‘Uncategorisable collections of miscellaneous works published by crazy fools like yours truly.’ He went on to praise them as, ‘among the smallest and most independent of the small and independent publishing world … they're an essential part of the literary landscape and the cultural ecosystem, and like a multicoloured magical mantis shrimp, they punch way above their weight.’
Felton accepted the title of fourth annual MUBA winner along with Grapple’s designer and visual-art editor, Finbah Neill.
The judges also had high-praise for the other two shortlisted titles: Isabelle of the Moon and Stars by S.A. Jones (UWA Publishing) – for the beautiful prose of a haunting and complex novel – and Funemployed: The life of an artist in Australia, from cradle to Centrelink by Justin Heazlewood (Affirm Press) – commending the memoir’s inclusion of interviews with over 100 artists and industry workers, interspersed with Heazlewood’s considerable personal experience of the industry (not least as ‘The Bedroom Philosopher’).
The Most Underrated Book Awards aims to shine a light on some of the outstanding titles produced by small and independent Australian publishers that, for whatever reason, did not receive their fair dues when first released. Past winners include Jane Rawson, Merlinda Bobis and Wayne Macauley.
For reviews, interviews or extracts please contact:
Duncan Felton 0438 822 036

For more information on the MUBA and its past winners,visit the Small Press Network website or contact SPN's Acting General Manager, Hannah Cartmel.
Copyright © 2015 Small Press Network, All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp