Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Approved by Robert Nemanich, DCMP Secretary/Treasurer

IUPAP C10 2016 Young Scientist Prize in the Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter


The IUPAP C10 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the study of the structure and dynamics of condensed matter by scientists at a relatively junior stage of their career. One prize per year will be awarded on the basis of nominations received. The recipient must be no more than eight years post Ph.D. (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition, and is expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievement in an area of experimental, computational or theoretical condensed matter physics.

Nomination Requirements and Deadline for Submission:

A complete nomination packet submitted by a senior nominator will consist of an up-to-date CV of the candidate, an award citation of 30 words or less, publication citation statistics, two letters of support from senior scientists including one from the nominator, up to three salient publications coauthored by the nominee, and a one-page statement by the nominee explaining the overall significance of the work in terms of grand challenges in the field of structure and dynamics of condensed matter, such as in energy or information science and technologies, exploring the bio- or nano-realms, or uncovering emergent or far-from-equilibrium phenomena. One of the two support letters must be from a senior scientist who was not a former supervisor of the nominee at either the graduate or postdoctoral level. The entire package should be bundled into a single pdf file and submitted by email to the C10 Chair (Prof. J. Raynien Kwo, Taiwan) at by July 15, 2015.

The Prize:

The Prize will consist of 1,000 Euro and a Medal and Certificate.

Prize Selection:

The prize selection committee will consist of C10 Commission members. The Prize winner will be announced on the IUPAP website.

Prize Presentation:

Winner’s Prize Lecture and Award Ceremony will be held in 2016 at the American Physical Society (APS) March Meeting (March 14-18, 2016; Baltimore, MD) in cooperation with Division of Condensed Matter Physics (DCMP) and Division of Material Physics (DMP) of APS.

IUPAP welcomes applications from outstanding women and other underrepresented groups.

APS Headquarters: 1 Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740
Editorial Office: 1 Research Road, Ridge, NY 11961
Washington, D.C. Office: 529 14th St NW, Ste 1050, Washington, D.C. 20045
© 2015 American Physical Society | All rights reserved | View Email Online