Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Approved by Nitin Samarth, DMP Chair-Elect
Dear DMP Membership,

This email is a reminder of the upcoming abstract submission deadline for the APS March Meeting 2019 (March 4–8, Boston, Massachusetts) and to call your attention to the sorting categories of the focus topics organized by the DMP. The abstract submission deadline for the APS March Meeting is Friday, October 26, 2018.

Learn more and submit an abstract »

We look forward to seeing you in Boston!

Sincerely,

Nitin Samarth
Penn State University
DMP Chair-Elect
 

DMP Focus Topics for 2019

07.01.01 Topological materials: synthesis, characterization and modeling [same as 36.07.01.01)
Organizers:
Lu Li (Michigan Univ) luli@umich.edu
Joseph Checkelsky (Massachusetts Inst. Tech.) checkelsky@mit.edu

07.01.02 Dirac and Weyl semimetals: materials and modeling (DMP) [same as 36.07.01.02]
Organizers:
Dmytro Pesin (Univ Utah) d.pesin@utah.edu
Guang Bian (Univ Missouri) biang@missouri.edu
Jin Hu (Univ Arkansas) jinhu@uark.edu

07.01.03 Topological superconductivity: materials and modeling [same as 09.01.02, 36.07.01.03, 36.09.01.02]
Organizers:
Arun Bansil (Northeastern Univ ) ar.bansil@northeastern.edu
Ashvin Vishwanath (Harvard Univ) ashvin_vishwanath@fas.harvard.edu
Vidya Madhavan (Univ Illinois-Urbana Champaign) vm1@illinois.edu

08.01.02 Dopants and defects in semiconductors [cosponsors: DCOMP, FIAP; same as 16.01.15, 36.08.01.02]
Organizers:
Cyrus Dreyer (Rutgers Univ) cedreyer@physics.rutgers.edu
Lee Bassett (Univ Pennsylvania) lbassett@seas.upenn.edu
Anderson Janotti (Univ Delaware) janotti@udel.edu

08.01.03 Dielectric and ferroic oxides [cosponsor: DCOMP; same as 11.01.01, 16.01.14, 36.08.01.03, 36.11.01.01, 36.16.01.14]
Organizers:
Julia Mundy (Harvard Univ) mundy@fas.harvard.edu
John Heron (Univ Michigan) jtheron@umich.edu
Beth Nowadnick (New Jersey Inst. Tech.) bethn@njit.edu

08.01.04 Organometal halide perovskites: photovoltaics and beyond [same as 36.08.01.04]
Organizers:
Joseph Berry (National Renewable Energy Lab) Joe.Berry@nrel.gov
Sarah Li (Univ Utah) sarahli@physics.utah.edu

09.01.01 Fe-based Superconductors [cosponsor: DCOMP; same as 16.01.16, 36.09.01.01]
Organizers:
Adam Kaminski (Ames Natnl Lab, Iowa State Univ) kaminski@ameslab.gov
Stephen Wilson (Univ California-Santa Barbara) stephendwilson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Steven Johnston (Univ Tennessee) sjohn145@utk.edu

11.01.05: 5d/4d transition metal systems [same as 36.11.01.05]
Organizers:
Gang Cao (Univ Colorado) Gang.Cao@Colorado.edu
Jan Musfeldt (Univ Tennessee) musfeldt@tennessee.edu

12.01.01: 2D Materials: Synthesis, Defects, Structure and Properties [same as 36.12.01.01]
Organizers:
Jing Kong (Massachusetts Inst Tech) jingkong@mit.edu
Jiaqiang Yang (Oak Ridge National Lab) yanj@ornl.gov
Sina Najmaei (Army Research Lab) najmaei.sina@gmail.com
Shawna Hollen (Univ New Hampshire) smhollen@gmail.com

12.01.02: 2D Materials: Semiconductors [cosponsor: DCOMP; same as 16.01.17, 36.12.01.02]
Organizers:
Nathan Guisinger (Argonne National Lab) nguisinger@anl.gov
Qing Hua Wang (Arizona State Univ) qhwang@asu.edu
Yong Chen (Purdue Univ) chen276@purdue.edu

12.01.03: Devices from 2D Materials: Function, Fabrication and Characterization [same as 36.12.01.13]
Organizers:
John Schaibley (Univ Arizona) johnschaibley@email.arizona.edu
Shiwi Wu (Fudan Univ) swwu@fudan.edu.cn
Weida Wu (Rutgers Univ) wdwu@physics.rutgers.edu

12.01.04: 2D Materials: Metals, Superconductors, and Correlated Materials [same as 36.12.01.04]
Organizers:
Aaron Bostwick (Lawrence Berkeley Nat'l Lab, Univ California-Berkeley) abostwick@lbl.gov
Cory Dean (Columbia Univ) cory.dean@gmail.com
Kin Fai Mak (Cornell Univ) km627@cornell.edu

12.01.05: Computational Design and Discovery of Novel Materials [same as 16.01.13, 36.12.01.05, 36.16.01.13]
Organizers:
Tim Mueller (Johns Hopkins Univ) tmueller@jhu.edu
Shyue Ping Ong (Univ California-San Diego) ongsp@eng.ucsd.edu
Artem Oganov (Skolkovo Inst Science & Technology, Russia) a.oganov@skoltech.ru

13.01.01: Nanostructures and Metamaterials [same as 36.13.01.01]
Organizers:
Xiaobo Yin (Univ Colorado) xiaobo.yin@colorado.edu
Nanfang Yu (Columbia Univ) ny2214@columbia.edu
Natalia Litchinitser (Duke Univ) natalia.litchinitser@duke.edu

13.01.02: Electron, Exciton, and Phonon Transport in Nanostructures [same as 36.13.01.02]
Organizers:
Tom Harris (Sandia National Lab) ctharri@sandia.gov
Han Htoon (Los Alamos National Lab) htoon@lanl.gov
Shixiong Zhang (Indiana Univ) sxzhang@indiana.edu

13.01.03: Complex Oxide Interfaces and Heterostructures [same as 36.13.01.03]
Organizers:
Ryan Comes (Auburn Univ) ryan.comes@auburn.edu
Hanghui Chen (New York Univ) hanghui.chen@nyu.edu
Roman Engel-Herbert (Penn State Univ) rue2@psu.edu

13.01.04: Materials for Quantum Information Science [same as 36.13.01.04]
Organizers:
James Rondinelli (Northwestern Univ) jrondinelli@northwestern.edu
Joseph J. Heremans (Argonne National Lab) heremans@anl.gov

14.01.01: Surface Science of Organic Molecular Solids, Films, and Nanostructures [same as 36.14.01.01]
Organizers:
Christopher Boehme (Univ Utah) boehme@physics.utah.edu

21.01.01 Thermoelectrics [cosponsor: GERA) [same as 36.21.01.01]
Organizers:
Zhifeng Ren (Univ Houston) zren2@central.uh.edu 
Mona Zebarjadi (Univ Virginia) mz6g@virginia.edu
Bolin Liao (Univ California-Santa Barbara) bliao@engineering.ucsb.edu
 

DMP also co-sponsors the following focus topics led by other APS units: 
  • 01.01.01: Organic Electronics (DPOLY/DMP)
  • 01.01.02: Optics and Photonics in Polymers and Soft Matter (DPOLY/GSOFT/DMP)
  • 02.01.13: Hyperuniformity and Optimal Tesselations: Structure, Formation and Properties (GSOFT, DPOLY, DBIO, DMP, DCOMP, GSNP)
  • 10.01.01: Magnetic Nanostructures: Materials and Phenomena (GMAG/DMP)
  • 10.01.02: Emergent Properties of Bulk Complex Oxides (GMAG/DMP/DCOMP)
  • 10.01.03: Magnetic Oxide Thin Films and Heterostructures (GMAG/DMP/DCOMP)
  • 10.01.04: Spin Transport and Magnetization Dynamics In Metals-Based Systems (GMAG/DMP/FIAP)
  • 10.01.05: Spin Dependent Phenomena in Semiconductors (GMAG/DMP/FIAP/DCOMP)
  • 10.01.06: Frustrated Magnetism (GMAG/DMP)
  • 10.01.07: Chiral Spin Textures and Dynamics, including Skyrmions (GMAG/DMP)
  • 10.01.08: Low-dimensional and Molecular Magnetism (GMAG/DMP)
  • 16.01.01 Matter in Extreme Environments (DCOMP, DMP, GSCCM)
  • 16.01.02 Building the bridge to exascale: applications and opportunities for materials, chemistry, and biology (DCOMP, DAMOP, DBIO, DCP, DCMP, DMP, DPOLY)
  • 16.01.03 Electrons, phonons, electron-phonon scattering, and phononics (DCOMP, DMP)
  • 16.01.04 First-principles modeling of excited-state phenomena in materials (DCOMP, DCP, DMP)
  • 16.01.07 Exploring Free Energy Landscapes in Biology and Materials Science with Advanced Algorithms (DCOMP, DPOLY, DBIO, DMP, GSOFT, GSNP)
  • 17.01.09 Topological Stabilization of Memory and Computation (DQI, DMP)