Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Approved by Amanda Petford-Long, DMP Chair-Elect
Dear DMP Membership,

I am contacting you as Chair-Elect of DMP to request nominations for invited speakers for the DMP Focus Topics at the APS March Meeting 2019 (Boston, Massachusetts, March 4-8, 2019). I am coordinating the DMP Program with help from the entire DMP Executive Committee. Your nominations will go to the organizers of the selected Focus Topic and will aid the organizers in their selection of invited speakers.

In case you were already contacted by a Focus Topic organizer and have sent in a nomination directly by email, you may ignore the rest of this message.

A Focus Topic generally consists of a series of sessions, each of which is typically seeded with one invited talk, the remainder of the session being composed of contributed presentations. The deadline for submissions is August 24, 2018, and you will need to send in the nominationYou will need an APS web account to log in to the system.

In suggesting speakers please keep in mind that speakers who gave a technical invited talk at the 2018 March Meeting are ineligible. Please also consider diversity when making nominations.

For the March Meeting 2019, DMP is the lead organization unit on 19 different Focus Topics listed below.

Sincerely,

Nitin Samarth, Penn State University
DMP Chair-Elect
 

DMP-led Focus Topics


07.01.01 Topological materials: synthesis, characterization and modeling
Organizers: Lu Li (Michigan Univ) luli@umich.edu, Joseph Checkelsky (Massachusetts Inst. Tech.) checkelsky@mit.edu

07.01.02 Dirac and Weyl semimetals: materials and modeling (DMP)
Organizers: Dmytro Pesin (Univ Utah) d.pesin@utah.edu, Guang Bian (Univ Missouri) biang@missouri.edu, Jin Hu (Univ Arkansas) jinhu@uark.edu

07.01.03 Topological superconductivity: materials and modeling
Organizers: Arun Bansil (Northeastern Univ) ar.bansil@northeastern.edu, Ashvin Vishwanath (Harvard Univ) ashvin_vishwanath@fas.harvard.edu, Vidya Madhavan (Univ Illinois-Urbana Champaign) vm1@illinois.edu

08.01.02 Dopants and defects in semiconductors
Organizers: Cyrus Dreyer (Rutgers Univ) cedreyer@physics.rutgers.edu, Lee Bassett (Univ Pennsylvania) lbassett@seas.upenn.edu, Anderson Janotti (Univ Delaware) janotti@udel.edu

08.01.03 Dielectric and ferroic oxides
Organizers: Julia Mundy (Harvard Univ) mundy@fas.harvard.edu, John Heron (Univ Michigan) jtheron@umich.edu, Beth Nowadnick (New Jersey Inst. Tech.) bethn@njit.edu

08.01.04 Organometal halide perovskites: photovoltaics and beyond
Organizers: Joseph Berry (National Renewable Energy Lab) Joe.Berry@nrel.gov, Sarah Li (Univ Utah) sarahli@physics.utah.edu

09.01.01 Fe-based Superconductors
Organizers: Adam Kaminski (Ames Natnl Lab, Iowa State Univ) kaminski@ameslab.gov, Stephen Wilson (Univ California-Santa Barbara) stephendwilson@engineering.ucsb.edu Steven Johnston (Univ Tennessee) sjohn145@utk.edu

11.01.05: 5d/4d transition metal systems
Organizers: Gang Cao (Univ Colorado) Gang.Cao@Colorado.edu, Jan Musfeldt (Univ Tennessee) musfeldt@tennessee.edu

12.01.01: 2D Materials: Synthesis, Defects, Structure and Properties
Organizers: Jing Kong (Massachusetts Inst Tech) jingkong@mit.edu, Jiaqiang Yang (Oak Ridge National Lab) yanj@ornl.gov, Sina Najmaei (Army Research Lab) najmaei.sina@gmail.com, Shawna Hollen (Univ New Hampshire) smhollen@gmail.com

12.01.02: 2D Materials: Semiconductors
Organizers: Nathan Guisinger (Argonne National Lab) nguisinger@anl.gov, Qing Hua Wang (Arizona State Univ) qhwang@asu.edu, Yong Chen (Purdue Univ) chen276@purdue.edu

12.01.03: Devices from 2D Materials: Function, Fabrication and Characterization
Organizers: John Schaibley (Univ Arizona) johnschaibley@email.arizona.edu, Shiwi Wu (Fudan Univ) swwu@fudan.edu.cn, Weida Wu (Rutgers Univ) wdwu@physics.rutgers.edu

12.01.04: 2D Materials: Metals, Superconductors, and Correlated Materials
Organizers: Aaron Bostwick (Lawrence Berkeley Natnl Lab, Univ California-Berkeley) abostwick@lbl.gov, Cory Dean (Columbia Univ) cory.dean@gmail.com, Kin Fai Mak (Cornell Univ) km627@cornell.edu

12.01.05: Computational Design and Discovery of Novel Materials
Organizers: Tim Mueller (Johns Hopkins Univ) tmueller@jhu.edu, Shyue Ping Ong (Univ California-San Diego) ongsp@eng.ucsd.edu, Artem Oganov (Skolkovo Inst Science & Technology, Russia) a.oganov@skoltech.ru

13.01.01: Nanostructures and Metamaterials
Organizers: Xiaobo Yin (Univ Colorado) xiaobo.yin@colorado.edu, Nanfang Yu (Columbia Univ) ny2214@columbia.edu, Natalia Litchinitser (Duke Univ) natalia.litchinitser@duke.edu

13.01.02: Electron, Exciton, and Phonon Transport in Nanostructures
Organizers: Tom Harris (Sandia National Lab) ctharri@sandia.gov, Han Htoon (Los Alamos National Lab) htoon@lanl.gov, Shixiong Zhang (Indiana Univ) sxzhang@indiana.edu

13.01.03: Complex Oxide Interfaces and Heterostructures
Organizers: Ryan Comes (Auburn Univ) ryan.comes@auburn.edu, Hanghui Chen (New York Univ) hanghui.chen@nyu.edu, Roman Engel-Herbert (Penn State Univ) rue2@psu.edu

13.01.04: Materials for Quantum Information Science
Organizers: James Rondinelli (Northwestern Univ) jrondinelli@northwestern.edu, Joseph J. Heremans (Argonne National Lab) heremans@anl.gov

14.01.01: Surface Science of Organic Molecular Solids, Films, and Nanostructures
Organizers: Christopher Boehme (Univ Utah) boehme@physics.utah.edu

21.01.01 Thermoelectrics
Organizers: Zhifeng Ren (Univ Houston) zren2@Central.UH.EDU, Mona Zebarjadi (Univ Virginia) mz6g@virginia.edu, Bolin Liao (Univ California-Santa Barbara) bliao@engineering.ucsb.edu