Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Authorized by Robert Nemonic, DMP Secretary/Treasurer
Dear DMP Membership,
This email announces the newly elected APS Fellows nominated through the DMP and encourages new nominations.
Any active APS member is eligible for nomination and election to Fellowship. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the Fellows of the APS should reflect that diversity. Fellowship nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.
Please consider nominating a colleague:
DMP nomination deadline: Monday, February 2, 2015
Nomination Information
The Division of Materials Physics proudly announces the 2014 APS Fellows nominated through DMP:
Elke Arenholz, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Citation: For developing and applying advanced soft x-ray instrumentation to achieve seminal advances in understanding magnetic materials and thin films.

David A. Broido, Boston College
Citation: For seminal theoretical contributions to the fundamental understanding of thermal and thermoelectric transport in bulk and nanostructured materials.

Jinghua Guo, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Citation: For pioneering soft x-ray spectroscopic studies of correlated solids, nano-scaled materials, and liquid phase systems.

Reizo Kato, RIKEN - Saitama
Citation: For pioneering works on the physics and materials science of molecular conductors and magnets.

Pawel J. Keblinski, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Citation: For significant contributions to fundamental understanding of interfacial heat flow using computational materials science tools.

Richard A. Lesar, Iowa State University
Citation: For insightful work in theory, simulation, and modeling of the properties, transitions, and dynamics of molecular solids under high pressures, and of distributions of dislocations.

Ju Li, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Citation: For seminal work on understanding the fundamental properties of ultra-strength materials and formulating the concept of elastic strain engineering.

Despina A. Louca, University of Virginia
Citation: For demonstration of the importance of the local atomic structure for elucidating the physical properties of complex oxides including the transition metal oxides through neutron scattering using the pair-density-function analysis.

Angelo Mascarenhas, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Citation: For his key experimental contributions to unravelling the effects on the electronic structure that result from processes such as spontaneous ordering and giant band gap bowing that are observed in non-equilibrium growth of semiconductor alloys.

Jose Menendez, Arizona State University
Citation: For significant contributions to the use of Raman spectroscopy in condensed matter physics and the understanding of lattice vibrations in semiconductor materials and superlattices.

Federico Rosei, INRS - Energie et Materiaux
Citation: For his pioneering and innovative work on the physical properties of organic/inorganic surfaces and interfaces and of molecular self-assembly in two dimensions.

Avadh B. Saxena, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Citation: For foundational contributions to phase transitions in functional materials and nonlinear excitations in low-dimensional electronic materials.

Ram Seshadri, University of California, Santa Barbara
Citation: For major contributions to developing structure-composition-property relations in functional inorganic oxides, to the understanding of the role of lone-pair electrons in polar and ferroic behavior, to frustrated magnetism and frustrated ferroics, and to novel phosphors for solid-state lighting.

Li Shi, University of Texas, Austin
Citation: For his pioneering work on thermal transport measurements of nanostructures and his discoveries of size effects in thermal and thermoelectric transport properties of one-dimensional and two-dimensional materials.

Yinmin Wang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Citation: For his major contributions to the understanding of deformation physics of nanocrystalline and nanotwinned materials, and for developing effective strategies to enhance the ductility of these superstrong materials for technological applications, including fusion energy targets.

Jiandi Zhang, Louisiana State University
Citation: For his significant contributions to elucidating the correlation between bulk and surface static and dynamic properties of complex materials.