Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Approved by Amanda Petford-Long, DMP Chair-elect
305aa546-7005-4843-bda6-6bff51c7e2f6.gif

Dear DMP Membership,

This email is a reminder of the abstract submission deadline for the APS March Meeting 2018 (March 5–9, Los Angeles, California) and to call your attention to the sorting categories of the focus topics organized by the DMP.

Abstract submission deadline: 11:59 p.m. EST, Friday, November 3, 2017

Meeting information and abstract submission.

We hope to see you in Los Angeles!

Sincerely,

Amanda Petford-Long
Argonne National Laboratory
DMP Chair-elect
 
 

DMP Focus Topics for 2018


7.1.1 Dielectric and Ferroic Oxides (same as 11.1.1, 16.1.13) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Seiji Kojima (U Tsukuba) kojima@ims.tsukuba.ac.jp, Nicholas Barrett (CEA) nick.barrett@cea.fr, Shi Liu (Carnegie Inst for Science) sliu@carnegiescience.edu

7.1.2 Topological Materials: Synthesis, Characterization and Modeling (DMP)
Organizers: Yong Chen (Purdue Univ) chen276@purdue.edu, Chaoxing Liu (Penn State Univ) cxl56@psu.edu, Zhiqiang Mao (Tulane Univ) zmao@tulane.edu

7.1.3 Dirac and Weyl Semimetals (DMP)
Organizers: Ken Burch (Boston College) ks.burch@bc.edu, Andrei Bernevig (Princeton Univ) bernevig@princeton.edu, Johnpierre Paglione (Univ Maryland) paglione@umd.edu

7.1.4 Organometallic Halide Perovskites; Photovoltaics and Beyond (DMP)
Organizers: Yan Li (Univ Utah) sarahli@physics.utah.edu Hanwei Gao (Florida State Univ) h-gao@physics.fsu.edu

7.1.5 5d/4d Transition Metal Systems (DMP)
Organizers: Vivien Zapf (Los Alamos National Lab) vzapf@lanl.gov, Natalia Perkins (Univ Minnesota) nperkins@umn.edu

8.1.2 Dopants and Defects in Semiconductors (same as 16.1.14) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Jack Lyons (Naval Research Lab) john.lyons@nrl.navy.mil, Evan Glaser (Naval Research Lab) evan.glaser@nrl.navy.mil, Greg Fuchs (Cornell Univ) gdf9@cornell.edu

9.1.1 Fe-based Superconductors (same as 16.1.15) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Jiun-Haw Chu (U. Washington) jhchu@uw.edu, Qimiao Si (Rice U.) qmsi@rice.edu, Jiaqiang Yan (Oak Ridge National Lab) yanj@ornl.gov

9.1.2 Topological Superconductivity (DMP)
Organizers: Matthew Gilbert (Univ Illinois Urbana-Champaign) matthewg@uiuc.edu, Eun-Ah Kim (Cornell Univ) eun-ah.kim@cornell.edu, Nadya Mason (Univ Illinois Urbana-Champaign) nadya@illinois.edu

12.1.1 2D Materials: Synthesis, Defects,Structure and Properties
Organizers: Connie Li (Naval Reseach Lab) connie.li@nrl.navy.mil, Marc Bockrath (Ohio State Univ) bockrath.31@osu.edu, Eric Stinaff (Ohio Univ) stinaff@ohio.edu

12.1.2 2D Materials: Semiconductors (Same as 16.1.16) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Junqiao Wu (UC Berkeley) wuj@berkeley.edu, Ian Appelbaum (Univ Maryland) appeli@physics.umd.edu, Di Xiao (Carnegie Mellon Univ) dixiao@cmu.edu

12.1.3: Devices from 2D Materials: Function, Fabrication and Characterization (DMP)
Organizers: Jim Hone (Columbia Univ) jh2228@columbia.edu, Joshua Robinson (Penn State Univ) robinson@matse.psu.edu, Andrea Young (UC Santa Barbara) andrea@ucsb.edu

12.1.4 2D materials: metals, superconductors, and correlated materials (DMP)
Organizers: Luis Balicas (High Field Magnet Lab, Tallahassee) balicas@magnet.fsu.edu, Tony Heinz (Stanford Univ) tony.heinz@stanford.edu, Mauricio Terrones (Penn State Univ) mut11@psu.edu

12.1.6 Van der Waals Bonding in Advanced Materials (same as 16.1.17) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Evan Reed (Stanford Univ) evanreed@stanford.edu, Aaron Lindenburg (Stanford Univ) aaronl@stanford.edu, Alejandro Rodriguez (Princeton Univ) arod@princeton.edu

12.1.7 Computational Discovery and Design of Novel Materials (same as 16.1.1) (DMP/DCOMP)
Organizers: Qimin Yan (Temple University) qiminyan@temple.edu, Anderson Janotti (University of Delaware) janotti@udel.edu

13.1.1 Nanostructures and Metamaterials
Organizers: Jay Foley (William Patterson Univ) jayfoley.iv@gmail.com, Hayk Harutyunyan (Emory Univ) hayk.harutyunyan@emory.edu

13.1.2 Electron, Exciton and Heat Transport in Nanostructures
Organizers: Pierre Darancet (Argonne National Lab) pdarancet@anl.gov, Alexander Weber-Bargioni (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab) afweber-bargioni@lbl.gov, Pramod Reddy (Univ Michigan) pramodr@umich.edu

13.1.3 Complex Oxide Interfaces and Heterostructures
Organizers: Adam Hauser (Alabamu Univ) ahauser@ua.edu, Divine Kumah (North Carolina State Univ) dpkumah@ncsu.edu, Xifan Wu (Temple Univ) XifanWu@temple.edu

13.1.4 Materials for Post-Moore Computing (DMP)
Organizers: Shriram Ramanathan (Purdue Univ) shriram@purdue.edu, Joshua Yang (Univ Massachusetts) jjyang@umass.edu

13.1.5 Assembly and Behavior of Hierarchical Materials (DMP)
Organizers: Steve Whitelam (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab) swhitelam@lbl.gov, Dmitri Talapin (U Chicago) dvtalapin@uchicago.edu

14.1.1 Surface Science of Organic Molecular Solids, Films and nanostructures (DMP)
Organizers: Mina Yoon (Oak Ridge National Lab and U Tennessee) myoon@ornl.gov, Chenggang Tao (Virginia Tech) cgtao@vt.edu