Message to members of the APS Division of Materials Physics
Approved by Robert Nemanich, DMP Secretary/Treasurer
Dear DMP Membership,
This is a reminder of the September 1, 2015 deadline for nominations for the Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter and Materials Physics.
The award recognizes doctoral thesis research of exceptional quality and importance in experimental condensed matter or experimental materials physics. The award, to be given annually, will consist of $2500, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, and an allowance of up to $1500 for travel to attend and give an invited talk at the annual APS March meeting at which the award will be presented.
The award was established in 2013 to honor the scientific and administrative contributions of Richard L. Greene to experimental condensed matter and materials physics. The Richard L. Greene Award is supported by a gift from his family.
Nominations will be accepted for doctoral dissertations written in English and submitted to any college or university, worldwide. Nominees must have submitted their dissertations after January 1, two years prior to the award. Nominations may be considered for up to two consecutive review cycles.

It is important to remember the membership of APS is diverse and global, so the prize and award winners should reflect that diversity. Nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

The nomination packet consists of the following materials:
  • A PDF of the Ph.D. thesis written in English

  • A letter from the thesis advisor explaining the rationale for the nomination

  • Two letters of support with at least one being from another institution

  • Contact information for the nominee

More Information »
APS Headquarters: 1 Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740
Editorial Office: 1 Research Road, Ridge, NY 11961
Office of Public Affairs: 529 14th St NW, Ste 1050, Washington, D.C. 20045
© 2015 American Physical Society | All rights reserved | View Email Online | Forward to a Friend