View this email in your browser
Tekapo Council Biz

From Nat;
It is IMPERATIVE that everyone who lives in Tekapo completes this survey to ensure we have guaranteed representation at Council level every election in the future. For this to happen Tekapo must have its own ward.   This is our opportunity (which only comes round every six years) to change the system for the better. 
It will just take 10 minutes of your time. Please make the effort.
ECAN - Get Involved !
Congratulations John Hearnshaw - a Fantastic Achievement

Congratulations to John Hearnshaw was awarded the International Dark-Sky Association’s highest award for 2020, receiving the "Crawford-Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award."

Media release from the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve Board
17 October 2020

New Zealand Astronomer John Hearnshaw Wins International Lifetime Achievement Award
John Hearnshaw, New Zealand astronomer and Emeritus Professor of Astronomy at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, has been awarded theInternational Dark-Sky Association’shighest award for 2020, receiving the "The Crawford-Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award." This award is named after the two founders of the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA) and represents the highest honour that the IDA bestows upon individuals who, in the course of their lifetime, have contributed an extraordinary effort to light pollution abatement.
John was the Director of Mt John Observatory from1976 to 2008. During this time, he took steps to protect the observatory from encroaching outdoor lighting from the nearby Tekapo Village. Specifically, he lobbied the Mackenzie District Council to include lighting regulations in their District Plan. This goal was achieved in 1981.
In 2010, these regulations were extended to include a large expansion of land inclusive of the town of Twizel. Consequently, this regulation’s control of light led to the 2012 designation of the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve (AMIDSR). After this success, John formed the AMIDSR Board and was elected Chair, a role he held until September this year. He continues to be a driving force for the board, especially in organizing Starlight Festivals in 2013, 2015, and 2017. Under John’s leadership, the AMIDSR was awarded the International Dark-Sky Association Dark Sky Place of the Year 2018.
Then, in 2019, John was the principal organizer of the New Zealand Starlight Conference. This IDA sponsored conference brought together participants from different backgrounds to discuss the inter-related themes of dark-sky protection. These themes include the effects of artificial light at night on star-gazing, the environment, and human health. John is an active member of the International Astronomical Union. He is especially involved with education, outreach, and protection of the night sky. Additionally, he is a member of IUCN Dark Sky Advisory Group. Further, John is the National Focal Point for New Zealand in the UNESCO Astronomy and World Heritage Initiative.
For quotes or more information, please contact:
Steve Butler
Chair, Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve Board
Phone: 027 351 1562
Amy Menard
Administrator, Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve Board
Phone: 027 545 1519
Community News

Mackenzie Arts and Heritage Week, 14-22 October
An invitation is extended to local businesses to be involved in the upcoming Arts and Heritage week. Various activities and events will be held and promoted throughout the Mackenzie. Please contact Penny if you would like to run an event/promotion during this time. A great way of showcasing local talent and celebrating the arts.

Save the Date: River City Jazz Men
Live, free concert Saturday 21st November, 4:30-6:00pm
Tekapo Market Square (wet weather venue; Community Hall)
Bring a picnic and enjoy a relaxing evening of jazz.

TPBA Membership Meetings

A HUGE thank you to our committee for your commitment for the following year, welcome Prue and farewell to Annie & Ana and thanks a ton for your time and hard work ;

Chair           Ann-Maree Grant
Vice Chair   Brooke Gardiner
Secretary    Jen Koberstein
Treasurer    Prue Blake
Committee  Hollie Woodhouse, Megan Miller

Committee Meetings –   10th November, 8th December, 12th January 2021

Public meetings ALL members welcome –   17th November, 19th January 2021.

Benefits of Membership;
  • Access to our database of 220
  • Inclusion on our (Currently undergoing maintenance ) website
  • Promotion on our social media channels (Facebook with over 3300 followers and Instagram which Hollie is currently revitalising so will grow exponentially soon )
  • Placing items in the newsletter
  • Inclusion to our B2B networking Functions 
  • Access to free workshops ( we had a very helpful Instagram one last week ) 
  • Advocacy as required by businesses 

Membership is $150 per year (1 April - 31 March annually), $50 for any additional website listings or a  second business and ONLY $30 for an individual membership

Community Info

We send out our e-newsletter every fortnight, so if you have any information you would like to include please email us.

Thanks from your committee,
Tekapo Promotions & Business Association

TPBA would like to thank Genesis and the Tekapo Community Board for our funding

Copyright © 2020 Lake Tekapo Promotions, All rights reserved.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Lake Tekapo Promotions · PO Box 174 · Lake Tekapo, Canterbury 7945 · New Zealand

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp