KLF Client Alert

Update: Canadians Exempt From New Entry Ban on H-1B, H-2B, J-1, and L-1 Nonimmigrant Foreign Workers

As previously reported, President Trump issued a new entry ban by means of Presidential Proclamation, effective June 24, 2020, on the following nonimmigrant foreign workers: H-1B Specialty Occupation, H-2B Temporary Non-Agricultural Workers, certain J-1 Exchange Visitors, and L-1A and L-1B Intracompany Transferees. 

We are proud and very active members of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA).  Membership and active participation in this 15,000 member national organization is very valuable to our firm in many ways, including staying abreast of changes in U.S. immigration law as well as the rigorous liaison activity in which AILA engages with the various U.S. immigration agencies.

We are pleased to advise that the AILA Customs and Border Protection (CBP) National Liaison Committee has received confirmation from CBP Headquarters that Canadians entering as H, L or J nonimmigrants are exempt from this new Presidential Proclamation because Canadians are visa exempt. Guidance has been provided to local CBP ports of entry on this issue.

You may find this recent New York Post article interesting which discusses the background behind this exemption.
Please contact us at or (212) 495-9245 if you require any U.S. immigration law assistance.

You can access our previous Client Alerts here.
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on LinkedIn
Check out our Website Check out our Website
This alert is for informational purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact the immigration professional with whom you work at Klug Law Firm.

Copyright © 2020 Klug Law Firm PLLC, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.