Please feel free to share this on your news pages
View this email in your browser

GREEN LUNG release lyric video for 'Upon The Altar' ahead of album release

Photo credit: Andy Ford
With just one week to go before the release of Black Harvest, GREEN LUNG have today premiered a new lyric video for their single, Upon The Altar Black Harvest, the highly anticipated follow up to 2019's Woodland Rites will be released via Svart Records on October 22. The track is available to stream on all digital platforms - alongside three other singles. Black Harvest will be available on heavy weight vinyl, CD and digital formats, and is available to pre-order here

Singer, Tom Templar, commented: 'With only a week to go until the release of Black Harvest, we thought we'd celebrate by releasing a lyrics video for our latest single Upon the Altar, chopping up some of our favourite altar scenes from sleazy 70s horror movies. Upon the Altar is a tribute to all these movies - especially Dracula AD 1972 - and you should go check all of them out ahead of Halloween. Also, be forewarned - this video is definitely not in any way safe for work.'’

Black Harvest is already collecting accolades from the press with Metal Hammer scoring the album 8/10 and The Guardian summarising its appeal as  Green Lung offering "an occultish vision of Britain that fits neatly into the alternate England also inhabited by director Ben Wheatley’s rural eccentrics, fanzine Weird Walk’s doomy pagan ramblings and Cornwall’s eerie Museum of Witchcraft."

Recorded at Giant Wafer Studios in rural mid-Wales over the course of two weeks with longtime producer Wayne Adams (Petbrick, Big Lad), before being mastered by John Davis at Metropolis (Led Zeppelin, Royal Blood), Black Harvest is a more expansive and textured record than anything the band have done before, boasting a cinematic quality and more attention to detail. All samples were sourced from the local countryside and from instruments found in the studio, including the haunting opening vocal of The Harrowing which was recorded on a whim after the band broke into the local church (the organ can be heard creaking in the background). 

Picking up where the self-released Woodland Rites left off, on Black Harvest GREEN LUNG continues to draw inspiration from Britain's rich history of folklore, from witchcraft and from cultish horror films. Nature - as always - is woven into the fabric of the songs; this time around the album was recorded in late autumn, and the seasonal atmosphere seeped into the music, which is redolent of mists, falling leaves, and the crumbling glory of the Magnificent Seven cemeteries of London, the city the band calls home.

GREEN LUNG recently completed a run of UK dates ahead of the release of Black Harvest. More dates will continue to be announced; the band will play Damnation Festival 2021 and Desertfest 2022.

Black Harvest track list
1. The Harrowing 
2. Old Gods
3. Leaders of the Blind
4. Reaper's Scythe
5. Graveyard Sun
6. Black Harvest
7. You Bear the Mark
8. Upon The Altar
9. Doomsayer 
10. Born to a Dying World

For all press enquiries relating to GREEN LUNG please click here or contact BECKY@PIONEERMUSICPRESS.COM in the first instance.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Pioneer Music Press · 23 Blackshaw Road · Glossop, SK13 7SN · United Kingdom

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp