class schedule

7.15pm (Yoga Flow)
6.00 am (Sunrise Flow)
9.30 am (Yoga Flow)
6.30 pm (Yang)
7.35 pm (Yin)

6.00 am (Sunrise Flow) 
9.00 am (Yin)
10.30 am (Yoga Flow)
7:00pm YIN EVENT
(15th Nov)

7.30 am (Primary series)
10.30 am (Yang/Yin)

Both Saturday classes as per usual schedule this week!

casual class $20/$15
5 pass $90
10 pass $160
Get your class pass at the studio via cash & EFTPOS or prepay via bank transfer
(email for details)
gift certificates available

Yoga retreats & workshops. Group, private, corporate, school & community yoga

Belair Community Centre
1 Burnell Drive
Belair SA 5052

Karen Gunter
0403 198964


Upcoming Events

The Essence of Being (Yin & live music)
All Levels Yin Event
Friday 15th November
7-9pm @ Yoga Garage


Kirbanu Candlelit Yin
& live music

All Levels Yin Event
Friday 20th December
7-9pm @ Yoga Garage


Summer Retreat @ Jura
21 - 23 February 2020


short film by Nicky Create
see it

Online practices created for you

Looking for some chilled out tunes? Check our our yogagarage-au Spotify playlists
Colouring Outside the Lines

"Yoga is a dance between control and surrender

Between pushing and letting go

When to push and when to let go becomes a part of the creative process

Part of the open-ended exploration of your being”

- Unknown

Your Saturday Yoga Classes are GO this weekend!

Happy Friday Yogis!

As I write this our guest teachers Irene Ais and Josh Blau are here in Adelaide and preparing for tonights' candlelit Yin event with us at 🧘‍♀️🧘‍♂️YOGA GARAGE🧘‍♀️🧘‍♂️

I'm so looking forward to greeting you all and then being a student tonight and taking my place on the mat alongside you
For those that are coming along, although our space will be warm, Yin is a cool practice so I suggest you dress warmly (with socks too) and bring a warm comfy rug and along with a bolster, mat and block if you have them.
There are a handful of tickets available for last minute bookings - see link in side bar.

We have gone with the flow and responded to our yoga communities feedback  and as a result our  Saturday morning classes ON this week as per regular schedule.
Both 7:30 am and 10:30 am classes will be in our large downstairs space with views across the treetops and into the big sky, it really is our favourite place to practice!

Looking forward to sharing the joy of yoga with you this weekend 🌸 Karen x 🌿

THANKYOU 🙏 to one of our regular students Sam for always asking questions and inspiring interesting conversations before class! This week we spoke briefly about the 8 limbed path known as Ashtanga. Although this is a topic I don't always speak to in class, it is at the heart of our practice at Yoga Garage and informs me on and off the mat. 


Yoga is much more than physical postures to stretch and strengthen the body… The 8 Limbs of Yoga are the centerpiece of the Yoga Sutras – written 2500 years ago by Patanjali. 
In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs” (ashta=eight, anga=limb). These eight steps basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline; they direct attention toward one’s health; and they help us to acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature.

1.    YAMA
The first limb deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct ourselves in life. 
Ahimsa (non violence)                   
Satya (truthfulness)               
Asteya (non stealing)               
Brahmacharya (moderation)
Aparigraha (non possessiveness / non greed)

2.    NIYAMA
The second limb, has to do with self-discipline and spiritual observances. Developing your own personal meditation practices, or making a habit of taking contemplative walks alone are examples of niyamas
Saucha (purity / clarity)                        
Santosha (contentment)            
Tapas (perseverance)                             
Swadhyaya (self education / study)
Ishwara Pranadhanini (surrender to god / higher ideal / universe)

 3.    ASANA
Asana refers to the physical postures practiced in yoga. Derived from the root word as in Sanskrit, which means seat, asana is designed to prepare the body and mind for seated meditation. The term asana refers to the ancient yogic tradition of taking a seat close to your teacher.

Life/energy retention or expansion. Pranayama refers to control of the prana (breath), puraka, (conscious inhalation), kumbhaka (retention of the breath) and rechaka (exhalation). Pranayama is the foundation of any Hatha yoga practice

Withdrawal of the senses from external objects. Pratyahara leads the mind inwards, preparing it for meditation

Concentration, the ability to direct the mind, to hold it in a single line of focus, uninterrupted

7.    DHYANA
Meditation. Dhyana is the state of being keenly aware, yet without focus. It is awareness without judgment or attachment; it is peaceful, meditative and precedes complete bliss. It is otherwise known to artists and athletes as the flow state. 

Bliss. Building upon Dhyana, the transcendence of the self through meditation. The merging of the self with the universe. Sometimes translated as enlightenment.

Through applying these 8 Limbs of Yoga to our daily lives, we can transform ourselves and the world around us, tapping into one’s fullest potential. 



Copyright © *2013 YOGA GARAGE* All rights reserved.
Our mailing address is:
18 Burnell Drive
Belair SA 5052
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp