Copy
View this email in your browser

Anglo-Ethiopian SocietyThe Anglo-Ethiopian Society

Alert List

Akashic Books adds to its award-winning series of noir anthologies with Addis Ababa Noir.

ISBN 9781617758201
Paperback - 256 pages
UK List price - £12.95

Edited by Maaza Mengiste with stories by Maaza Mengiste, Adam Reta, Mahtem Shiferraw, Linda Yohannes, Sulaiman Addonia, Meron Hadero, Mikael Awake, Lelissa Girma, Rebecca Fisseha, Solomon Hailemariam, Girma T. Fantaye, Teferi Nigussie Tafa, Hannah Giorgis, and Bewketu Seyoum.
 
Addis Ababa Noir is published on Tuesday 4 August in the USA and on Thursday 6 August in the UK. There are a number of online events taking place in the USA to mark the launch of the book. Note the times - most are late evening or early morning events.

Wednesday 5 August, 0:00 to 1:00 BST: Maaza Mengiste with Mikael Awake - The Strand Bookshop, New York. (Tuesday 4 August, 7:00pm to 8:00pm ET).

Saturday 8 August, 2:30 BST: Maaza Mengiste with Mahtem Shiferraw and Teferi Nigussie Tafa - Skylight Books, Los Angeles. (Friday 7 August, 6:30pm PDT).

Friday 14 August, 23:00 to 24:00 BST: Maaza Mengiste with Linda Yohannes - Politics & Prose, Washington, DC. (Friday 14 August, 6:00pm to 7:00pm EDT).

Friday 21 August 1:00 BST (join from 0:00 BST): Maaza Mengiste with Iranian novelist Salar Abdoh - Elliott Bay Book Company, Seattle. (Thursday 20 August, 5:00pm PDT - join from 4:00pm PDT).
 

From the book's introduction by Maaza Mengiste:

What marks life in Addis Ababa are the starkly different realities coexisting in one place. It’s a growing city taking shape beneath the fraught weight of history, myth, and memory. It is a heady mix. It can also be disorienting, and it is in this space that the stories of Addis Ababa Noir reside . . .

These are not gentle stories. They cross into forbidden territories and traverse the damaged terrain of the human heart. The characters in these pages are complicated, worthy of our judgment as much as they somehow manage to elude it. The writers have each discovered their own ways to get us to lean in while forcing us to grit our teeth as we draw closer . . .

Despite the varied and distinct voices in these pages, no single book can contain all of the wonderful, intriguing, vexing complexities of Addis Ababa. But what you will read are stories by some of Ethiopia’s most talented writers living in the country and abroad. Each of them considers the many ways that myth and truth and a country’s dark edges come together to create something wholly original—and unsettling.

The Stories:
Kind Stranger by Meron Hadero (Lideta)
A Double-Edged Inheritance by Hannah Giorgis (Shiromeda)
Ostrich by Rebecca Fisseha (National Palace)
Dust, Ash, Flight by Maaza Mengiste (Mercato)
Father Bread by Mikael Awake (Kechené)
The Blue Shadow by Mahtem Shiferraw (Yerer Ber)
A Night in Bela Sefer by Sulaiman Addonia (Bela Sefer)
Insomnia by Lelissa Girma (Haya Hulet)
Of the Poet and the Café by Girma T. Fantaye (Beherawi Theater)
Under the Minibus Ceiling by Bewketu Seyoum (Arat Kilo)
Of Buns and Howls by Adam Reta (Addis Ababa West)
Kebele ID by Linda Yohannes (CMC)
None of Your Business by Solomon Hailemariam (French Legation)
Agony of the Congested Heart by Teferi Nigussie Tafa (Meskel Square)

View this email in your browser
Twitter
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2020 The Anglo-Ethiopian Society, All rights reserved.


Visit our alert list archive

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp
Facebook
Twitter
Link
Website