Dean's E-News | November 30, 2016
March 1, 2017
View this email in your browser

Awards and Grants

James C. Cox (pictured) and Michael Price have been awarded a National Science Foundation grant of $ $247,191 to support the project, “Using Field Experiments and Naturally Occurring Data to Understand How State Policies Impact Charitable Giving.”  The award starts March 1, 2017 and ends Aug. 31, 2019.
Joannie Tremblay-Boire and her co-authors were recently informed that they are the recipients of the William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award as having the best Public Administration Review (PAR) article by an academic in 2016.  They will receive their award during the American Society for Public Administration conference in Atlanta on March 19, 2017. Download a copy of the article at:
Amanda Phillips Martinez was invited to serve as chair of the Health Resources and Services Administration’s National Advisory Council on Migrant Health for the 2017 term.


Mark Rider (pictured), James C. Cox & Astha Sen (Ph.D., Economics, ’15). (2017).  Tax Incidence: Do Institutions Matter? An Experimental Study, Public Finance Review, forthcoming.  Download the working paper at
Ross Rubenstein (pictured) & Nicholas Warner. (2017). Georgia’s Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax for Education: Review of Trends and Policy Implications. The Center for State and Local Finance.
Susan McLaren, Pettignano, R., Bliss, L. & Caley, S. (2017). Interprofessional Medical-Legal Education of Medical Students: Assessing the Benefits for Addressing Social Determinants of Health. Academic Medicine.
Theodore H. Poister, Edwards, L. & Pasha, O. (2016). Operationalizing Strategy Content: An Example from the Transit Industry. International Journal of Public Administration. 39(5),  395-403.


Paula Stephan presented the “Economics of the Postdoctoral Position” at the annual meetings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Boston, Mass., Feb.19, 2017.  Stephan, who is an elected Council member of AAAS, also attended the annual Council meetings at AAAS.

Joseph Hacker was an invited panelist at the East Roswell Economic Forum in Roswell, Ga., Feb. 8, 2017. 

Karen Minyard made two presentations at the Communities Joined in Action annual conference in San Antonio, Texas, Feb. 15-16, 2017.

  • Co-presented with Chris Parker, Tanisa Foxworth and Glenn Landers during “Improving Community Health through Innovations in Financing” in a pre-conference workshop.
  • Moderated the plenary session, “Breaking News in Innovation.”
James Cox presented the paper, “Moral Costs and Rational Choice: Theory and Experimental Evidence,” at the Philanthropy Research Workshop during his visit with the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis in Indianapolis, Ind., Feb. 20 and 21, 2017. Cox’s paper is coauthored with Vjollca Sadiraj, Michael Price, John List (University of Chicago) & Anya Samek (University of Southern California). Here’s a link to the paper:

Carolyn Bourdeaux was quoted in the Atlanta Journal-Constitution article, “Fulton County Schools Brings Back Staff and Programs, But Recovery’s Slow,” Feb. 10, 2017.


Harvey Newman was quoted in the following media:

Ross Rubenstein and Nicholas Warner’s (pictured)  ESPLOST research was featured in the following media:

Paula Stephan was quoted in the Chronicle of Higher Education article, “Job-Killing Computerization Sets Its Sights on the University Researcher,” Feb. 20, 2017.
Joseph Hacker was interviewed on WABE-90.1 broadcast, “Atlanta Streetcar Ridership Drop Offers Lesson To Other Cities,” Feb. 27, 2017.
The Center for State and Local Finance’s work was cited in the following media:

Student News

Several Georgia State students completed a sample LSAT examination with the assistance of the undergraduate Criminal Justice Student Association and TestMasters on Feb. 24, 2017. The two groups have been collaborating more than three years, and TestMasters has agreed to offer Georgia State University students a $500 discount off its full law school examination preparatory course.  Interested students should contact GSU’s Testmaster representative, Steve Hayden, at


Tyler Rogers (M.P.A., ‘17) was cited in the Atlanta Journal Constitution column, “Bragbook for Feb. 10,” Feb. 9, 2017.

Alumni News

Samantha Abell (B.S., Public Administration and Urban Studies, ‘99) was recently named Interim City Manager of Gulf Breeze, Fla. An article about her recent appointment appeared in the Gulf Breeze News.

Community Outreach and  Events

AYS Dean Mary Beth Walker and Associate Dean Sally Wallace met as a Georgia State University delegation with several universities in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam to discuss potential for partnerships around students, curriculum and degree programs, and research--in particular the global cities initiative.  Following are photos from their trip. 

Mona Khalef (Finance, ’17) was the winner of the Andrew Young School’s new BIS in Social Entrepreneurship program’s “Be the Change” contest. She will receive $1,000 to fulfill her pledge. 
Open to all Georgia State students, the contest challenged students to write an essay on how they pledged to change the world in 2017.  There were over 130 entries and more than 330 votes were cast to select the winner. Read Khalef’s winning essay at


Congratulations To...

Cynthia Atkins Woods on being elected to represent the Andrew Young School on the University Staff Council.  Woods joins Marolyn “Lucy” Gentles, Lannda Oden and Danielle Churchill, all who already represent the AYS on the Staff Council.

The 2017 Dan E. Sweat Lecture Series

David Figlio, director of the Institute for Policy Research and Orrington Lunt Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University, was this year’s Dan E. Sweat Lecturer.  He spoke on “Can Online Higher Educations Replace Traditional Instruction?”
Pictured here with Figlio (left to right) are Mrs. Dan Sweat, Ross Rubenstein, current Dan E. Sweat Distinguished Chair in Educational and Community Policy, and David Sjoquist, Dan E. Sweat Distinguished Chair in Educational and Community Policy (2003-2015) and Founding Holder, Dan E. Sweat Distinguished Chair (2015 – present)
The Dean’s E-News is a feature published by the AYSPS Dean’s Office. For publication
in the next issue, please submit your news items to Marcia Jones Cross at
Copyright © 2017 Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list