Kia ora from Royal Society Te Apārangi | Issue #1175

Ngā Ahurei hou a Te Apārangi new Fellows announced

Twenty-three Ngā Ahurei hou a Te Apārangi new Fellows have been elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi for their distinction in research and advancement of mātauranga Māori, humanities, technology and science. They are world leaders in their area of research and scholarship.

They are Barbara Barratt, Andrew Barrie, Laura Bennet, Elizabeth Broadbent, Barbara Brookes MNZM, Margaret Carr ONZM, Murray Cox, Peter Fineran, Claudia Geiringer, SallyAnn Harbison MNZM, Christian Hartinger, Deborah Hay, Stephen Henry, Philip Hill,  Amokura Kawharu (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara, Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei),  Bastiaan Kleijn, Tahu Kukutai (Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Tiipa, Te Aupōuri, Waikato), Sonja Macfarlane (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Waewae), Nigel Perry,  Murray Thomson, Stephen Todd, John Townend, and Angela Wanhalla (Ngāi Te Ruahikihiki, Ngāi Tahu).

Mā te kimi ka kite, mā te kite ka mōhio, mā te mōhio ka mārama.
Seek and discover, discover and know, know and become enlightened.

Read more

Celebrating the 2021 Research Honours Aotearoa winners

This month we had hoped to hold ceremonies around the country to celebrate the 2021 Research Honours Aotearoa winners with the Health Research Council of New Zealand and kaitautoko partners and supporters Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment; Callaghan Innovation; and Marsden Fund Te Pūtea Rangahau a Marsden. 

As we could not do this due to the pandemic, this week the winners received their awards, certificates, flowers and some goodies to celebrate with whānau family, hoa mā friends and ngā kaimahi colleagues when they can. 

To the winners, we acknowledge the successes that you, your teams and collaborations have brought to the New Zealand research community and hope we can celebrate in person soon. 

Kia tere te kārohirohi i mua i tōu huarahi.
May the shimmer of light ever dance across your pathway.

Read more on the winners > 

He pitopito kōrero News bulletin

Aotearoa New Zealand history curriculum launches

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Ministers Kelvin Davis, Jan Tinetti, and Aupito William Sio launched the Aotearoa New Zealand histories curriculum at Sylvia Park School this morning.

Are Covid-19 treatments working? – Expert Q&A 
Now that Aotearoa has 930 people in hospital and a steepening death curve from Covid-19, how are people being treated for the disease at present? What’s working against the Omicron variant (and what’s not) – and when are new treatments anticipated to arrive in the country?
Winners of the Brain Prize 2022
A former student in Molecular Biology at the University of Auckland, Martyn Goulding, has recently shared the world famous Lundbeck Foundation Brain Prize 2022, awarded for having revolutionised our understanding of the neuronal cell types and circuits underlying movement.
@Lundbeck Foundation
Eight fold variation in water charges - depending on where you live
Water New Zealand’s latest performance benchmarking tool, the National Performance Review, has found that there are huge variations in what New Zealanders are being charged for water services depending on where in the country they live.
@Water New Zealand

Ngā take o te wā Events

30 March, Online
Cafe Scientifique: A Deadly Dance - When Black Holes and Neutron Stars Collide
What happens when the densest objects in the universe collide at half the speed of light? Join Dr Heloise Stevance, physicist, astronomer, and science communicator spectacular in learning about the collision of black holes and neutrons in this event by the Auckland Museum Institute.
March, Online
Writers Talks Online
The second drop of digital Writers Talks as part of Aotearoa New Zealand Festival of the Arts Writers Festival is now available online. This is your chance to experience compelling conversations with some of the world's sharpest minds from the comfort of your back yard, morning walk or favourite café - just make sure you bring headphones! 

Ngā whiwhinga Opportunities

Introducing WeSTEM: an exciting new STEAM initiative for Pacific Island students in west Auckland

This initiative will fund innovative projects that give west Auckland young people new opportunities to experience science and technology through hands-on activities and collaborative research.

Deadline: 11 April (round 1), 15 May (round 2)
Organisation: WeSTEM, Te Hononga Akoranga – COMET

Scientific mobility is back!  New Grant from the French Embassy in NZ for NZ based researchers

New mobility grant for early career researchers based in New Zealand (PhD students and post-docs): the SAAFE (Scholarship AINSE ANSTO French Embassies) scholarship.

The SAAFE Program supports young researchers from France, Australia and New Zealand working in the fields of nuclear science and engineering applied to human health, the environment, the nuclear fuel cycle and materials science.

Deadline for applications:  1 May 
Organisation: AINSE ANSTO French Embassies

Wānanga Ipurangi Webinars

2-4pm UTC, 24 March
Webinar: Inclusion and Participation of Women in Global Science Organisations
Women remain underrepresented in global science. In this webinar, the results of a collaborative study conducted by GenderInSITE, the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP) and the International Science Council (ISC) will be presented.

Mō Te Apārangi | About Us

Royal Society Te Apārangi supports New Zealanders to explore, discover and share knowledge. Our varied programmes provide support and opportunities for researchers, teachers and school students, together with those who are simply curious about the world. To learn more visit
Royal Society Te Apārangi
11 Turnbull Street, Thorndon,
Wellington 6011
Aotearoa New Zealand.

Contact us
+64 4 472 7421 

Follow us         
Copyright © Royal Society Te Apārangi