QUARTER NOTES - February 2016
    Nominations Meeting in December produces no opposition to Local 66 leadership for new 2-year terms beginning April 1, 2016.
View this email in your browser

                     Rochester Musicians' Association, Local 66 AFM
                     875 E. Main Street, Suite #370

                     Rochester, NY  14605                           585-546-7633

Local Officers Again to Continue

       The nominations meeting of the Rochester Musicians’ Association was held on Sunday, December 13, 2015.  The nominations process produced only the bare number of nominations necessary to fill the available positions.  These nominations included all incumbents except Norm Booth, who resigned from the Local 66 Board in the fall.  The one nomination for a new Board member was for Andy Brown. Nominations were accepted for the positions of President, Secretary-Treasurer and five at-large positions on the Board of Directors as follows:
  • President & Secretary-Treasurer: David Angus
  • Board of Directors At Large (5 positions): Bob Ames, Charlie Bailey, Andy Brown, George Pierce &  Craig Sutherland
       Because the results of this nominating process produced no contested positions, it is not necessary to hold an election during February. The Secretary-Treasurer will cast one ballot for the entire list of nominees on behalf of the Local membership, and the nominees will automatically be elected without opposition. This is the normal procedure for uncontested elections under labor law. The nominees will thereby each be elected for 2-year terms that begin April 1, 2016.

JOYWAVE - new members of Local 66

      Hailing from Rochester, NY, the indie rock band Joywave has enjoyed a whirlwind of activity and attention in recent months.  2015 saw the release of the band's debut full-length EP "How Do Your Feel?".  The band played Summerstage in Central Park, watched as their songs "Somebody New" and "Now" rose up the alternative radio charts and, most recently, launched their first (and predominately sold-out) U.S. headline tour.
The five members of Joywave are the newest members of the Rochester Musicians' Association, Local 66 of the AFM.  The band consists of members Daniel Armbruster (vocals), Joseph Morinelli (guitar), Sean Donnelly (bass), Benjamin Bailey (keyboards) and Paul Brenner (drums).  The members of Joywave joined Local 66 under the AFM's incentive to welcome all members of a self-contained musical unit into the union without payment of any initiation fees.

       Joywave has appeared on Late Night with Seth Meyers, Jimmy Kimmel Live, and VH1's Big Morning Buzz Life.  Signing with Hollywood Records in 2013 enabled the band members to escape from the basement of Armbruster's house and rent their own studio, a free standing cottage in Rochester that resembles a "wierd Soviet dentist's office" whose plumbing stopped working during recording and whose ceiling caved in.

Celebrating 70 -
          Upcoming Concert features Rochester Oratorio Society

     The Rochester Oratorio Society will make a joyful sound to celebrate seven decades of great singing in Celebrating 70 at 7:30 pm on Friday, March 11th in the Hochstein Performance Hall.  Alumni from across the country will return to honor the occasion.  Eric Townell leads the ROS, and a brass ensemble will join the chorus in festive music including works by Brahms, Handel, Haydn, John Rutter and Norman Dello Joio.  Conducting duties will be shared with ROS Emeritus Director Roger Wilhelm.

     The Rochester Oratorio Society was founded in 1945. It has performed on concert tours in Eastern Europe, Italy, Scandinavia and China.  The ROS collaborates with other vocalists, instrumentalists, ensembles and artists from other disciplines of the Rochester region, including numerous appearances with the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra.

Copyright © 2016 American Federation of Musicians, Local 66, All rights reserved.
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp