"The Penguin Bookshop belongs to you, this special community of customers and readers." --soc
 

Happy Independent Bookstore Day!

This Saturday, May 2nd, the Penguin Bookshop, along with independent bookstores across the country, will celebrate the first Independent Bookstore Day.   How exciting that we, as a country, are recognizing the value of bricks-and-mortar stores in our increasingly internet-centered world.

But as trends are ever-changing and individual bookstores come and go, isn't it amazing to think that our town has sustained a bookstore for over 85 years?!  How is this even possible?  The answer: the loyalty of our town and surrounding community.

We must always pay tribute to the Penguin's original founders -- oh how I wish I could talk to them today -- so many questions!  And Margaret Marshall who stayed the course for over 25 years.  And Janet McDanel who invested so much in re-creating the Penguin for a different era.

Several owners, several locations.  But the one constant has been:  Sewickley's and the surrounding community of customers' commitment to keeping a bookstore in their town.  

The world is changing faster than ever before.  We cannot control the economic climate or the forces working against us.   We can only focus on being the best possible store we can be, with great books, interesting events, and excellent customer service.  

The Penguin was around long before I arrived, and I hope it will be around long after I am gone.  But the bottom line is: it will be around for as long as its community of customers wants it here.  I do hope that will be a very long time.


Thanks for supporting the Penguin for over 85 years,

Susan & the Penguin Team



 

 
Join the Penguin Bookshop in celebrating Independent Bookstore Day!!

Saturday,
May 2, 2015


11:00 Storytime -- "Books about Books"
12:00 Special music with guitarist Eric Susoeff
All Day --Special Give-aways and ToteBags for Sale!!

 
 
 
 


2:00-4:00PM
Author Visit with Pittsburgh Dads!!
 
Creators and stars of the hit YouTube Series, Pittsburgh Dad, Chris Preksta and Curt Wootten will be here signing books!  
 
GREAT FATHER'S DAY PRESENT!!​
Special Author Event for Teens!
May 5, 2015 
5:00 PM 
meet the author of 
Catch Me When I Fall: Dreamcatcher, Book One 
 Vicki Leigh 
Vicki wants to meet you and will be signing books....please stop by after school
!
The Penguin Bookshop & Shadyside Academy Present:
   Deborah Harkness
at the Hillman Center
Sunday evening
May 31 at 7:00 P.M.


TICKETS NOW AVAILABLE!

                Special Saturday Storytimes
11:00 A.M.
Please come and join us!!
 
May 2nd, "Books about Books" Storytime!
 
May 9th, "Dinosaur Day",
including
Rappy the Raptor!

 

May Store Hours:

Monday- Friday
10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m

Saturday 
10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Sunday- Closed


 

Adult Bestsellers for April


Going to Church: It's Not What You Think!
by Susan Mann Flanders



Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania
by Erik Larson















All The Light We Cannot See 
by Anthony Doerr














Argot
by Fred Shaw



The Girl On A Train
by Paula Hawkins




The Gaffer 
by Celeste Gainey


 

Childrens Bestsellers for April



Home 
by Carson Ellis












Magic Marks the Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1)
by Caroline Carlson


Drama 
by Raina Telgemeier


Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
by Jesse Andrews



Sisters
by Raina Telgemeier



 
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
Instagram
Instagram

  What We're Reading
(and loving)...


Susan:
Deborah Harkness's
All Soul's Trilogy


If you haven't already, now is the time to discover the amazing Deborah Harkness!  We are hosting her in partnership with Shadyside Academy at the Hillman Center for Performing Arts on Sunday, May 31st @7PM.  Deborah is touring to promote the paperback release of the third book in the series,
The Book of Life.  Start reading the series now, and meet Deborah at the end of the month!

The All Souls Trilogy follows the story of Diana Bishop, a historian and reluctant witch, as she solves the mystery of Ashmole 782, falls in love with a mysterious vampire named Matthew Clairmont, and learns how powerful it can be to accept who you are.


Mary
Michael Punke's
Revenant: A Novel of Revenge

They say you can't judge a book by it's cover, but wait until you see this one!  

Based on the life of the real Hugh Glass, legendary trapper and mountain man, THE REVENANT tells the gruesome tale of one man left for dead by his two fellow fur trappers. 
Set out West during a time when the West was still wild, THE REVENANT follows Hugh Glass's courageous struggle to find the two men who left him to die.   A great read!






Kate
Alexander McCall Smith's
Emma
This book is the newest release in "The Austen Project" - six new novels by six major authors that retell Jane Austen's classic stories in a modern context. Alexander McCall Smith - best known for his mysteries set in Scotland and Botswana - has tackled Austen's snobbish, matchmaking heroine, and the result is a pleasure to read. The best parts involve characters not fleshed out in Austen's original - including Emma's father Mr. Woodhouse and schoolteacher Mrs. Goddard (or Mrs. God, as Emma calls her). The general plot is familiar and fast-paced, and the novel as a whole is very light and entertaining. It's the perfect early summer read!


Lisa
Krista Bremer's
A Tender Struggle: A Story of a Marriage (Previously titled My Accidental Jihad)

Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Cheryl Strayed will enjoy this beautiful and refreshingly honest memoir which explores challenges the free-spirited  American author faced upon her marriage to a Muslim man originally from Libya.  Bremer and her husband both struggle to understand and accept each other's differences, leading to sometimes comical, and often poignant, reflections on both of their respective cultures and customs. Love is the glue that binds them together, and theirs is an inspiring love story, with lessons in tolerance, acceptance and compassion that we can all benefit from.


Kristin
Kate DiCamillo's
Mercy Watson Boxed Set

To say my three-year-old Madeline loves these books is an understatement. We read them over and over again, but the nice thing for me is, they never get old. They're short enough to be read in one sitting, and yet they have chapters so Madeline feels like a big girl. And when she does start reading on her own, they will be the perfect books. 




Quinn
Philip Pullman's 
The Golden Compass
Lyra Belacqua lives in a parallel world in which human souls take the form of lifelong animal companions called daemons. Dark forces are working in Lyra's world resulting in the disappearance of multiple children. When Lyra's best friend, Roger, goes missing, Lyra vows to save her best friend. Setting out with her daemon, a tribe of seafarers, a witch, an ice bear and a Texas airman, Lyra sets out to rescue her best friend and save her world.


An exciting read!



 
 

Penguin Evening Readers
        Thursday,May 28, 2015  at 7:00 p.m.
Secret Wisdom of the Earth

 by Chris Scotton

After witnessing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, 14-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods. The events of this fateful summer will affect the entire town of Medgar, Kentucky, [which] is beset by a massive mountaintop removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back-filling the hollows

So much to talk about with this book -- please join us!!
Penguin Evening Readers receive special discounts on all bookclub books.

 
PBWS
 
The Penguin Bookshop Writers Series will officially launch on
May 14th,
with author
Kristin Bair O'Keefe
and her exciting workshop,

 
Writerhead: Getting into Your Creative Groove
***
all writers and aspiring writers welcome!!

Future Releases...



Release date May 5, 2015

David McCullough's 
The Wright Brothers

Sarah Dessen's 
Saint Anything

Release date May 12, 2015

Joseph Ellis' 
Quartet: Orchestrating the Second American Revolution 1783-1789

John Grisham's 
Theodore Boone: The Fugitive


Release date June 2, 2015

Judy Blume's
In the Unlikely Event

Stephen King's
Finders Keepers


Pre-Order online or in store

 
Pittsburgh's Premier Independent Bookstore  Since 1929

417 1/2 Beaver Street
Sewickley, PA  15143
412.741.3838


Copyright © *|2014|* *|Penguin Bookshop|*, All rights reserved.

1 *|May Newsletter|*


*|penguinbookshop.com|* unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences