Come senators, congressmen
Please heed the call
Don't stand in the doorway
Don't block up the hall
For he that gets hurt
Will be he who has stalled
There's a battle outside
And it is ragin'
It'll soon shake your windows
And rattle your walls
For the times they are a-changin'.

--Bob Dylan, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, 2016
 
Dear Friends of the Penguin,

Next month when I write this letter, we will know who our next President of the United States will be!  Then we can get on to the joy of the holiday season.  The store is filling up with all sorts of extra goodies, including  calendars, lots of gorgeous coffee table books, and, of course, the latest Indie Bestsellers.

Please note that the November Events Season kicks off right away on Tuesday the 1st, with our launch of Sara Shepard's new novel, THE AMATEURS.  Then on Friday, November 4th, we have an exciting panel of young adult authors who will be speaking about and signing copies of their books.


The awarding of the Nobel in Literature to Bob Dylan sparked a lot of interesting discussion about what really constitutes "literature."  Wherever you stand, there is no doubt that Dylan is more than a songwriter.  We have his newly released LYRICS: 1961-2012, his memoir, Chronicles (2005), his only work of fiction, Tarantula (2004), and even Dylan-inspired childrens books if you would like to revisit Dylan on the page.   

The Penguin sold books at several off-site events this month including David Sedaris and Carol Burnett -- great opportunities for us.  But our favorite events, of course, are the ones held within the walls of our beloved store...hope to see you here soon.

Susan & the Penguin Team

November 1, 2016 6P.M.

Join us this Tuesday for the launch of 
Sara Shepard's new series...
The Amateurs


"A DELICIOUS AND SUSPENSEFUL PAGE-TURNER..."
I. Marlene King, Executive Producer, Pretty Little Liars



 

From #1 New York Times best-selling author Sara Shepard comes a thrilling new mystery series perfect for fans of Serial and Pretty Little Liars

Five years ago, high school senior Helena Kelly disappeared from her backyard in Dexby, Connecticut, never to be heard from again. Her family was left without answers–without any idea who killed Helena, or why.

Eighteen-year-old Seneca Frazier wants to change that. After connecting with Maddy Wright, his friend Brett, and Helena’s sister, Aerin Kelly, on a message board dedicated to solving cold cases, she just might succeed where the police have failed. But Seneca is hiding some dark secrets of her own–secrets that could get in the way of the investigation.

And somewhere nearby, the killer is watching…ready to do whatever it takes to make sure the truth stays buried.

Sara’s bestselling young adult series, Pretty Little Liars, is loosely based on her experiences growing up on Philadelphia’s Main Line…although luckily she never had any serious stalkers. The series inspired the ABC Family television series of the same name.

Please call the Penguin Bookshop for reservations.
412-741-3838


 

This Friday...The Penguin Bookshop Young Writers Series

November 4, 2016 6:00PM





Meet this exciting group of young adult authors, all together in one place!! An exciting opportunity for YOUNG ADULTS as well as ASPIRING WRITERS in the YA GENRE and teachers interested in ideas for their middle grade classes.
Authors will have their books available for purchase.

Please call the Penguin Bookshop for reservations.
412-741-3838


 
Special Saturday Storytime with Miss Stef

November 5, 2016
Noon to 1 p.m.

One Vote, Two Votes, I Vote, You Vote!!



Stop by and cast your vote!
Monday, November 7, 2016
6:00 P.M. 


Harry Haskell
author of...

Maiden Flight


Harry Haskell unravels the mystery of the "third Wright brother"--their sister, Katharine. 

Maiden Flight is cast in the form of three interlocking first-person memoirs, imaginatively reconstructed from personal letters, newspaper reports, and other documents of the period—in particular, Katharine's eloquent and extraordinarily revealing love letters to Harry (the author's grandfather). Although the narrative straddles the line between historical fiction and creative nonfiction, it is solidly grounded in historical research: every incident, fact, and emotion that the members of this lovers' triangle describe--almost entirely in their own words--is either fully documented or can be confidently inferred from the historical record. 
Call the Penguin Bookshop for reservations.
412-741-3838
Holiday Store Hours:

Monday- Saturday
10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m
Wednesday
10:00a.m.-7:00p.m.
Sunday  
11 a.m. to 3 p.m.


Open late during events!
 
Attention kids!  Storytime 
with Miss Stef

 Tuesdays @10:30AM


Each week features a letter of the alphabet

Adult Bestsellers for October

The Other Einstein
by Marie Benedict


Chuck Noll: A Life's Work
by Michael McCambridge



Leave Me 
by Gayle Forman


Death By Cyanide
by Paula Reed Ward



Steelers Takeaways
by Ron Lippock
Childrens Bestsellers for October

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard
by Rick Riordan













If You Give A Mouse A Brownie
by Laura Numeroff 










Not So Quiet Library
by Zachariah Ohora











Room On The Broom
by Julia Donaldson
Photo Gallery



Miss Stef reading to BIG crowds on Tuesdays in October



Miss Stef & the gang always do an activity!




Dave Eggers and happy fans!



Pittsburgh Post-Gazette reporter & author
Paula Reed Ward  with fans!





Susan with author Gayle Forman





Mary, author Marie Benedict, & Susan! Marie's book launch party!





Great Event with 
Michael MacCambridge!

We have SIGNED COPIES OF 
Chuck Noll: His Life's Work 
if you missed it



 


HAPPY BIRTHDAY to our wonderful UPS driver,
Lydia!
From the entire Village of Sewickley Businesses
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
Instagram
Instagram
What We're 
Reading
(and loving)...
Susan...
SWING TIME by Zadie Smith, the award-winning author of White Teeth and On Beauty

I think Zadie Smith is one of the most exciting authors writing today, and I have been eagerly awaiting her new novel, Swing Time, which releases on November 15th.  The novel follows "two brown girls who dream of becoming dancers—but only one, Tracey, has talent. The other has ideas: about rhythm and time, about black bodies and black music, what constitutes a tribe, or makes a person truly free. It's a close but complicated childhood friendship that ends abruptly in their early twenties, never to be revisited, but never quite forgotten, either."  Ranging from north-west London to west Africa, it promises to combine a study of friendship with a meditation on music, rhythm and time. 

 
 
Mary....
How Big Is Big?
How Far Is Far?

by Jan Van Der Veken

 How Big is Big? How Far is Far? is full of amazing facts for children thirsting for knowledge. Intelligent and witty illustrations by Jan Van Der Veken help young readers better understand how large, far away, heavy, loud, or old something actually is when they come across a unit of measure.



Lisa
The Guineveres
by Sarah Domet

Four adolescent girls, known as The Guineveres, are united through their names and circumstances, when each is left by her family to be raised at a convent for reasons unknown to them.  Their friendship provides solace from their pain and loneliness, and the foursome develops a deep and fiercely loyal bond, which sees them through adventures, trials and betrayals.  I was completely caught up in reading about these compelling young women, and their bittersweet, poignant times at the convent.  Sarah Domet's debut novel is beautifully rendered, and I look forward to reading more of her works in the future!



Marisa
Vegan, Vegetarian, Omnivore: Dinner For Everyone At The Table
by Anna Thomas

Holiday cooking can be stressful enough before you add your cousin's veganism or your son's vegetarianism into the mix--which is why Anna Thomas' Vegan, Vegetarian, Omnivore: Dinner for Everyone at the Table is your perfect solution. Thomas developed this cookbook after just such a holiday meal. How could she accommodate her vegan son and her Polish mother? Simple: Make several easy-to-cook vegan or vegetarian dishes that taste great with meat on the side. Of the recipes I've made thus far, both have been delicious and healthy and (most importantly) easy and quick. Vegan, Vegetarian, Omnivore is the tool you need to cook with confidence for any family member or dinner guest you host this holiday season.

Kristin,
Amateurs
by Sara Shepard

Sara Shepard's new Young Adult mystery The Amateurs is a wild thrill ride that left me anxiously awaiting the next book in the series.  The story follows Seneca Frazier and her best friend Maddy Wright as they try to solve the five-year-old cold case mystery of a high school student's disappearance.  They became friends after meeting on a website devoted to unsolved crimes, Case Not Closed, and have decided to find out what happened to this girl in Connecticut.  Meeting up with another Case Not Closed fan, Brett, and the sister of the girl who disappeared, Aerin, they discover many of the people close to the victim are not who they seem and begin to find more questions than answers. 

Penguin Evening Readers

 
November 17, 2016
7 P.M.

Dead Wake 
by Erik Larson 





Penguin Evening  Readers receive special discounts on all bookclub books.
 Newcomers are  always welcome!  

Notable Future Releases.



November 1, 2016

Jeff Kinney's 
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down

November 7, 2016

Lee Child's
Night School

November 15, 2016

David Baldacci's
No Man's Land


Elaine Khosrova's
Butter: A Rich History


Rachel Ren Russell's 
Dork Diaries #11

November 19,2016

J.K. Rowling's
Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them


November 22, 2016

Michael Chabon's 
Moonglow


Pre-Order online or in store
 
Did you know....

The Penguin Bookshop can send books or gift cards directly to your friends and family?


Call us for details or visit our website

penguinbookshop.com
412-741-3838
Emma's Corner

Short by Holly Goldberg Sloan (coming in January, 2017)

Julia Mark is short for her age (12) and always has been since she was born.  Since her friends went to summer camp, Julia does not know what to do with her life, until her mom signs her up for the musical, the Wizard of Oz. Julia does not want to go until she meets her director, Shawn Barr and her soon to be friend Olive. After the first couple of practices she starts seeing things differently and realizes it is not a bad thing to be short. One boring summer day Julia decides that she wants to press flowers to put in her scrapbook. She decides to get them from Mrs. Chang’s flower garden, but to get them she wants Mrs. Chang's permission. Julia tells Mrs. Chang about the play and Mrs. Chang tells Julia how she can make costumes for the Wizard of Oz, under one circumstance: Mrs. Chang wants to be one of the flying monkeys in the musical.

Julia learns in life that it does not matter if she is tall or short. She soon finds herself and her artistic talents in the musical and the people around her. Even better she learns that she can dance and sing without caring what other people think. Throughout the story Julia learns how to make the best of her summers and create special bonds with people that are not her age. The book Short has many ups and downs that teach anyone who reads this book to love your body the way it is.Holly Goldberg Sloan has written many books for young adults and children including Counting by 7s, a New York Times bestseller.  I suggest this book to anyone in 5th-7th grade.

Your Community Bookstore,  Since 1929

417 Beaver Street
Sewickley, PA  15143
412.741.3838


Copyright © *|2016|* *|Penguin Bookshop|*, All rights reserved.

1 *|October Newsletter|*


*|penguinbookshop.com|* unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences