Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear Is New SREB Chair
News From SREB | Press Release
Beth Day, Director of Communications
(404) 879-5544

Gale Gaines, Vice President, State Services
(404) 879-5582

The Southern Regional Education Board works with 16 member states: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization based in Atlanta, SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislatures to help education and government leaders advance education and improve the social and economic life of the region.

Kentucky Governor Beshear Elected Chair of the Southern Regional Education Board

SREB Elects Officers for Board and Legislative Advisory Council

Atlanta,  June 27, 2013 Governor Steve Beshear of Kentucky was elected chair of the Southern Regional Education Board at its annual meeting in New Orleans this week. He succeeds Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal, who was recognized at the meeting for his service as SREB chair over the past year.

As chair of SREB’s 80-member Board, Governor Beshear will work with other governors, legislators and state education leaders to pursue goals for improving public education and student achievement across the region at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. Board chairs are elected to one-year terms.
Beshear became Kentucky’s governor and a member of the Southern Regional Education Board in 2007. As governor, he has focused education efforts on protecting the primary education funding formula from cuts. In higher education, he convened a work group to reduce college costs and signed legislation making it easier to transfer credits from community and technical colleges to four-year universities.

In 2011, Beshear was named America’s Greatest Education Governor by the National Education Association. He has challenged Kentucky’s school districts to adopt a new graduation age policy to keep potential dropouts engaged in school until age 18. He also merged the state’s career and technical education systems to place academic emphasis on career skills and better prepare students for the 21st century workforce.

Chancellor Glen Johnson of Oklahoma was re-elected to a second one-year term as vice chair of SREB. Johnson was named chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education in January 2007. He joined the SREB Board in 2010.

Senator Robert H. Plymale of West Virginia was elected treasurer of the Board. He has been an SREB Board member since 2003.

SREB Legislative Advisory Council Elects Delaware Senator as Chair
Senator F. Gary Simpson of Delaware was elected chair of SREB's Legislative Advisory Council at the group's 62nd annual Legislative Work Conference, held in conjunction with the SREB annual meeting. He succeeds Representative Herbert D. (“Herb”) Frierson of Mississippi as LAC chair. Senator Simpson, who is from Milford, Delaware, was elected to the state Legislature in 1999 and appointed to SREB’s Legislative Advisory Council in 2007.

Delegate Norman H. Conway of Maryland was elected vice chair of SREB’s Legislative Advisory Council. From Salisbury, Maryland, he was elected to the state Legislature in 1987 and appointed to SREB’s LAC in 2008.

SREB's Legislative Advisory Council meets regularly to give guidance to Board programs and address current education topics.



© 2013 Southern Regional Education Board. All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp