View this email in your browser

Tuition savings across degrees and states

Beth Day, Director, Communications

Mary Larson, Director, Student Access Programs and Services
404-875-9211 xt. 219

The Southern Regional Education Board works with states to improve public education at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization based in Atlanta, SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislatures to advance education and improve the social and economic life of the region. SREB member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.
Follow SREB

Academic Common Market: Out-of-State Degrees, In-State Rates

College Access Across State Lines, Tuition Savings

Atlanta, GA — March 16, 2015 — Now is the time when parents and students are starting to shop for colleges for fall enrollment.  For residents of any Southern Regional Education Board member state, SREB’s Academic Common Market enables them to pursue out-of-state college degrees at in-state tuition rates, through agreements among the states, colleges and universities. ACM makes available more than 1,900 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

“Through the Academic Common Market, students can easily enroll in programs that their states may not offer,” said Mary Larson, director of SREB’s student access programs and services.  “It’s a win-win for students and the states in the SREB region — students save on tuition, and institutions can attract more students.”

Because it provides access across state lines for programs not available in a student's home state, ACM reduces unnecessary duplication of academic programs in participating states. ACM is not competitive or merit-based; applicants must meet state residency and college program requirements.

Interested high school and college students and adult learners can find out if they qualify for the program by taking the steps below. 

To qualify:
  • Be a resident of one of 16 SREB states.
  • Contact the ACM coordinator for your state of residence.
  • Select a degree program eligible for residents of your home state.
  • Complete the admission process at the institution offering the Academic Common Market program.
 For an FAQ on ACM, click here

Copyright © 2015 SREBComm, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences