Copy

The Prospect Heights Shul is a Modern Orthodox Shul in Brownstone Brooklyn



 




 
The Prospect Heights Shul
A Modern Orthodox Shul in Brownstone Brooklyn
Parshat Beshalach

Candle Lighting 4:51 PM |  Havdalah: 5:54 PM

In This Week's Email:


Shabbat and Virtual Davening Schedule

We are excited to gather for in person Shabbat davening at our temporary outdoor space (505 Grand). Please sign up here for all Shabbat activities and review the health protocols on our website (www.prospectheightsshul.org)

Fri Jan 29
4:00 PM PM Virtual Kabbalat Shabbat (on Zoom)
or copy link https://zoom.us/j/91731675563?pwd=K3FhSWVQU2NnVTlIdjN2U1dRekQwUT09

Sat Jan 30
9:30 AM Shacharit (after a brief kiddush)
4:30 PM Mincha

Please see our recent email about our plan for outdoor davening moving forward.  
Inyanei d'Yoma: Torah of Today - YCT Learning Program

Please join us for an upcoming winter series run by YCT on important issues of the day during the month of February. PHS is a sponsor!

- Monday, February 8, 8pm Eastern (7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)
- Sunday, February 14, 12pm Eastern (11am Central, 10am Mountain, 9am Pacific)
- Sunday, February 21, 8pm Eastern (7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)
- Sunday, February 28, 8pm Eastern (7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific)

Please fill in the information below and you will receive the Zoom information upon registering. If you don't receive it, you can join us on Facebook Live (www.facebook.com/YCTorah)

If you are interested in closed captioning and/or ASL interpretation, please check that box below as well. You must use the Zoom link (not Facebook Live) in order to reliably view the captions/ASL interpreter.

You can sign up her: tiny.cc/yctorah

Membership Drive

Our 2021 PHS Membership Campaign is ongoing! Please see most recent email from PHS Board President David Hammer with more information on how to join or renew your membership. 
Finding God in Isolation: Dr. Erica Brown

Save the Date! Feb 16 at 8 pm. More info to come.

Our next Finding God in Isolation series will feature Dr. Erica Brown.

Dr. Erica Brown is the director of the Mayberg Center for Jewish Education and Leadership and an associate professor of curriculum and pedagogy at The George Washington University. Erica was a Jerusalem Fellow, is a faculty member of the Wexner Foundation, an Avi Chai Fellow and the recipient of the 2009 Covenant Award for her work in education. She is the author of twelve books on leadership, the Hebrew Bible and spirituality; her newest book is The Book of Esther: Power, Fate and Fragility in Exile (Koren). She has been published in the New York Times, The Atlantic, Tablet, First Things, and The Jewish Review of Books and wrote a monthly column for the New York Jewish Week. She has blogged for Psychology Today, Newsweek/Washington Post’s “On Faith” and JTA and tweeted on one page of Talmud study a day at DrEricaBrown. She has a daily podcast, “Take Your Soul to Work.”
 
Save the Dates!
 
Purim is coming! More information to come about Zoom/in-person options, children's programming, and other activities. 

Feb 25 - Ta'anit Esther
5:15 AM Fast Begins
6:30 AM Shacharit
6:12 PM Fast Ends 
6:15 PM Megillah Reading 

Feb 26 - Purim 
7 AM Shacharit & Megillah Reading 

Support PHS through Amazon Smile

A reminder that PHS is now eligible for the AmazonSmile program. With the AmazonSmile program, Amazon will donate 0.5% of the price of your eligible Amazon purchases to PHS at no extra cost to you! Set PHS as your default charity through this link, or visit smile.amazon.com directly every time for your purchases to count towards a PHS donation.

Community Support - Goods and Services
 
Community Volunteer OpportunityCrown Heights JCC at 899 Montgomery Street is looking for volunteers to support the food pantry they created to meet the rising need for emergency food assistance in Crown Heights. To sign up to package food and/or to drive, follow this link. This is an ongoing opportunity. If you have any further questions, email Jeremy Nicholson. 

Community Support: We are blessed with many generous community members who are eager to support the broader PHS community during this difficult time. If you are in a position to offer a good or service (e.g. an old laptop for work or school, help with groceries or medications) please fill out the following spreadsheet. Questions may be sent to info@prospectheightsshul.org.

COVID-19 Relief Fund: Rabbi Leener is still maintaining a COVID-19 tzedakah fund, through which he has been able to discreetly provide direct financial assistance, provide hot meals, and support funeral arrangements for those in need. If you are able, please donate here, and specify that the gift is being made for relief funds. 

Thank you and tizku l'mitzvot. 

WhatsApp Groups

To join our tefillah whatsapp group, click here
To join our women’s whatsapp group, click here
To join our tehillim whatsapp group, click here
To join our Talmud class group, click here
To join our parents' group, click here

Eruv Announcements

The PHS community relies on the Greater Crown Heights Eruv, the Brooklyn Heights Eruv, and the Park Slope Eruv. For a map of the boundaries for the eruvim please follow this link. To donate for the upkeep of the Greater Crown Heights Eruv click here

Want to share your news with the community? Please let us know at announcements@prospectheightsshul.org. Deadline for the newsletter is Tuesday at 9 pm.
www.prospectheightsshul.org
info@prospectheightsshul.org