Georgia Tech Aerospace Engineering News October 2015
View this email in your browser
October 2015
GT-AE senior Henderson Johnson was selected as the 2015 Mr. Georgia Tech.  read more or watch this video
From the
GT-AE Chair

It's an exciting time to be involved in aerospace engineering.

I was reminded of our great fortune this past month when I visited colleagues at Virginia Tech, Mississippi State, and the University of Washington.

At each campus, I witnessed an enterprising spirit and dedication to scholarship that energized me: new collaborative space dedicated to student design work at Virginia Tech; ambitious new faculty pushing the envelope at Mississippi State; and an inspirational grasp of industry needs at the University of Washington. With resources like these, our discipline is uniquely positioned to launch even more greatness in the coming century.

As chair, I will work to keep GT-AE in the forefront of that journey. But I do not fool myself: GT-AE is not alone in our pursuit of 21st Century innovation.

And that's a good thing. We've got a lot of truly talented and energetic partners spread across this country and the world. I look forward to working with them in the years to come.

Faculty News @GT-AE

Foundational research in turbulent fluid flows headed up by Professor P.K. Yeung has been published in the  Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences  (PNAS).
read more

William R. T. Oakes Professor and AE School Chair Dr. Vigor Yang was officially inducted into the National Academy of Engineering during ceremonies held in Washington, DC on October 4 and 5. The normally reserved professor and researcher asked us to refrain from publicizing this event, but when his colleague Dr. Ben T. Zinn brought back photos from the NAE ceremonies, we could not resist.  In recognition of his wishes, we will share a photo of Yang surrounded by other NAE inductees, his GT-AE colleagues Ben Zinn, Robert Braun, and Robert Loewy.

GT-AE's NAE Members

Back row: Dr. Ben T. Zinn, Dr. Robert D. Braun,
Front row: Dr. Robert Loewy and Dr. Vigor Yang

GT-AE Alumni News

Dr. Christopher Jones, a 1986 alumnus, was announced as the 2016 Black Engineer of the Year. He will officially receive the honor at the 3-day BEYA Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Conference, to be held in February 2016. Dr. Jones was also named an Associate Fellow by AIAA this year. CONGRATULATIONS!

For $100: can you name that plane? Can you name that GT-AE Trivia Night host?

Stumped? You are not alone.
More than 60 GT-AE students and faculty showed up to compete for bragging rights (and a $60 prize) Oct. 29 when former astronaut and current AIAA executive director Sandy Magnus hosted Sigma Gamma Tau's first-ever AE Trivia Night. 
See the photos (and some of the questions).


GT-AE 2015 Homecoming Reception brings together some old friends

On the eve of the Jackets' upset victory over FSU, some old friends visited us in Montgomery Knight. Check out the photos.

Got News? Send it to

Copyright © 2015 Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences