Wichita Symphony to debut innovative concert format with Symphony 360: A New Perspective 
Wichita Symphony Orchestra

June 21, 2021
Carter Tholl
Manager of Marketing & Communications 
Download PDF

(Wichita, KS) The Wichita Symphony returns to Century II on July 10th at 7:30 PM with a concert in the Convention Hall entitled Symphony 360: A New Perspective. After successful outdoor events in the early part of the summer at Botanica, Bradley Fair, Naftzger Park, and other neighborhood parks, this performance marks the Symphony’s first indoor performance since last November. The symphony is excited to return to Century II, while still practicing caution in light of the rapidly changing conditions surrounding the pandemic. 

“While there have been innumerable burdens placed on symphonies and other performing arts entities  because of the pandemic, it has also created opportunities for innovation,” says Don Reinhold, Wichita Symphony CEO. “This concert utilize the Convention Hall in a different way, and will create an opportunity for concert-goers to gain a new perspective.”

You've Never Seen the Symphony Like This 

For this concert, symphony players will be seated in the middle of the large Convention Hall floor, with audience seating encircling the orchestra. Much like theatre-in-the-round gives audiences an opportunity to see the performance from a new vantage point, concert-goers will be able to get an up close and personal view of the orchestra from unique angles. Finally, audiences can know what Maestro Daniel Hege's face looks like while he conducts, instead of seeing the back of his head!

Tickets will be sold in two tiers – floor seats surrounding the orchestra will be available for $65 and limited to about 125 seats. A more traditional stadium view in the Convention Hall Loge seats is available for $35. Both ticket levels will be general admission, within their section, to allow audience members to observe social distancing guidelines. Tickets can be purchased at or by phone at 316-267-7658. 

Concertmaster Holly Mulcahy to be featured as soloist on Philip Glass's The American Four Seasons. Photo: Todd Rosenberg.

This all strings program will feature concertmaster Holly Mulcahy on two movements of Philip Glass’s The American Four Seasons. Written in 2009 as a companion to Vivaldi’s famous The Four Seasons, Glass’s piece leaves it up to the listener to interpret which movement represents which season. Also on the program are Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite, and Peter Boyer’s Three Olympians. "I am pleased to link Boyer's wonderful piece to the upcoming Tokyo Olympics, and audiences love the Philip Glass concerto everywhere Holly performs it," says Music Director Daniel Hege. 

Musicians will perform from the center of Century II's Convention Hall (pictured here without floor seats), surrounded by audience seating in 360°.

In light of current pandemic conditions, the Wichita Symphony will be following current city building regulations, and will require patrons to wear masks inside Century II, including when seated in the Convention Hall. General admission seating will allow households or pods to sit together, while still distancing from other groups by leaving an empty seat between parties.

Symphony 360 will be presented as a special summer concert, outside of the typical October-May WSO season. The Wichita Symphony looks forward to sharing this new format with audiences, and welcoming them back into Century II’s performance spaces.

Symphony 360: A New Perspective
Saturday, July 10 at 7:30 PM
Century II Convention Hall

PETER BOYER Three Olympians
PHILIP GLASS The American Four Seasons, Mvt. 1 & 4
     featuring Holly Mulcahy, violin
EDVARD GRIEG Holberg Suite

Tickets from $35
Online | 
Phone | 316.267.7658

Monday - Thursday | 10am - 4pm
Copyright © 2021 Wichita Symphony Society, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Copyright © 2021 Wichita Symphony Society, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list