Copy
Coordinating efforts to prevent, manage and treat Hep C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 

Brooklyn Hep C Task Force
Meeting Highlights

November 4, 2015 (2:45 - 5 PM) SUNY Downstate Medical Center
In Attendance: See Below
Subscribe here

Meeting Highlights

Welcome
Margarita Cabral, Brooklyn Hep C Task Force Chair - margaritacabral2@verizon.net 
Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC Health Dept - njohnso2@health.nyc.gov

Hepatitis C Treatment in HIV-1 Coinfected Patients at STAR Health Center 
Elliot Dehaan, MD, Director of HCV Services, STAR Health Center - Elliot.DeHaan@downstate.edu
Tracey Griffith, MPA, Hepatitis C Program Manager, SUNY Downstate, Special Treatment and Research Health Center - Tracey.Griffith@downstate.edu
  • See Slides Online
  • Location: STAR Health Center. University Hospital of Brooklyn, 470 Clarkson Avenue, Suite J
  • STAR Health Center has provided Hep C care since 2000.
  • Staff include: Downstate Medical Providers; Consulting Hepatologist; Case/Care Managers; Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner; Nutritionist; Mental Health Counselors; Peers 
  • Onsite services include: Housing Assistance; Insurance Assistance; Adherence; Appointment Calendars; Pill Boxes/Keychain;Text Reminders; Appointment
Hepatitis C Care at Kings County Hospital
Marie  Abdullah, MD, Kings County Hospital - marie.abd@nychhc.org

Hepatitis C Care, Division of Gastroenterology, SUNY Downstate
Prameela Rao, MD - Prameela.Rao@downstate.edu
  • See Slides Online
  • Location: SUNY Downstate Medical Center, 450 Clarkson Avenue, Suite C - 1st floor, Brooklyn NY
  • Staff include: GI Fellow; Hepatology Fellow; Nurse Coordinator 
  • Clinical care and treatment for mono-infected hepatitis C; hepatitis B; cirrhosis; non-viral causes of liver disease, including pregnant women with liver test abnormalities. Evaluation for referral to a liver transplant and evaluation of ESRD patients with HCV.
Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Hepatitis C Program         
Angel Cotto, Linkage to Care, Wyckoff Health Medical Center - acotto@wyckoffhospital.org
Anca Giurgiulescu, Director Prevention,  Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Hepatitis C Program, giurgiulescu@wyckoffhospital.org
  • Location: 1610 Dekalb Avenue, Brooklyn NY 11237
  • Offers community-based primary and specialty care for the holistic management of HIV and other chronic disease, including Hepatitis C.
  • For more information, contact Zachariah Hennessey at zhennessey@wyckoffhospital.org or 718-907-4952
NYC Health Department Surveillance Study: Barriers to Hep C Treatment Among NYC Residents
Andrea King, MPH, NYC Health Department, Viral Hepatitis Surveillance - aking@health.nyc.gov
  • See Slides Online
  • Goals of the study were to ask both patients and providers about the reasons patients are not receiving treatment for their hep C, and to use these findings to remove barriers and increase the number of New Yorkers who are treated and cured.
  • Barriers to treatment included: provider does not treat; unsuccessful referral to treatment; concern over treatment side effects; lack of symptoms; concerns over cost; and disease not advanced enough (see slide for full list of barriers and percent of patients reporting the barriers).
Hep C Advocacy Update 
Carlos Rosario, Hepatitis Community Organizer, VOCAL-NY - carlos@vocal-ny.org
  • Carlos Rosario has just been hired at VOCAL-NY as the Hepatitis Community Organizer, focusing on building a movement of people directly affected by hepatitis C to work towards the end of the epidemic.
  • If you would like Carlos to visit your organization and do a #HepTalk about hepatitis C, you can contact him at  carlos@vocal-ny.org

Updates


Hep Free NYC LGBTQ Initiative
Daniel Calder, MPH, NYC Health Dept - dcalder@health.nyc.gov
T
his new initiative will be a sub-group of the NYC Hep B Coalition & Hep C Task Force.  The initiative will unite the LGBTQ community in advancing viral hepatitis awareness, screening, and access to care through education, outreach, advocacy, and innovative projects.Visit the Hep Free NYC LGBTQ Initiative webpage for more information and announcements. Help develop the program by providing your recommendations in our online survey.  Complete the survey here

Hep Free NYC Patient Navigator Network
Paul Bolter, American Liver Foundation - PBolter@liverfoundation.org
This network serves to connect professionals who navigate patients with Hep B or C through the health care system, to strengthen referral relationships and support open exchange of information, resources and opportunities.

HepCX.nyc 
The Hep C Clinical Exchange Network aims to increase the capacity of NYC Hospitals to identify and manage hepatitis C.
Upcoming Events

HepCure Webinar | Barriers to Management of Hep C: Treating People Who Use Drugs Nov 24 (4:30-5:30pm) Presented by Dr. Alain Litwin, Professor of Medicine, Psychiatry, and Behavioral Science at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Attend the webinar here 

Training | Hep C Prevention for Young People Who Inject Drugs Dec 10 (10:00-5:00pm) This training will explore HCV prevention for young (18-29 years) people who inject drugs (PWID) in both urban and non-urban settings.  This training is FREE and will be held at Harm Reduction Coalition, 22 West 27th St., 5th Floor, New York, NY 10001. For more information, click here

Resources 

HepCure - Mount Sinai Medical Center weekly Tele-education webinars. Online and app-based resources, navigation, consultation, and support for both patients and providers. Watch expert webinars here

2013 NYC Hep B & C Surveillance Report. NYC Health Department's latest report containing key findings from hepatitis B and C surveillance data through 2013. View full report.

In Attendance 

  1. Alan Dorvil, Turning Point, adorvil@tpbk.org
  2. Alithia Alleyne, Community Practrice Admin, SUNY Downstate, alithia.alleyne@downstate.edu
  3. Anca Giurgiulescu, Director Prevention,  Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Hepatitis C Program, giurgiulescu@wyckoffhospital.org
  4. Andrea King, City Research Scientist, DOHMH, aking@health.nyc.gov
  5. Angel  Cotto, Linkage to Care Navigator, Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Hepatitis C Program, acotto@wyckoffhospital.org
  6. Angela Bruce, PEOS, Brooklyn Family Psychological Services, clarabruc@yahoo.com
  7. Betty Kolod, Medical Student Leader, SUNY Downstate, bettykolod@gmail.com
  8. Carlos Rosario,Community Organizer, VOCAL-NY - carlos@vocal-ny.org
  9. Daniel  Calder, Outreach Coordinator, NYC DOHMH, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  10. Danielle Barnes, Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C,  Institute for Advanced Medicine, danbarnes@chpnet.org
  11. David  Cushman, Gilead, david.cushman@gilead.com
  12. Donna Dawkins donna.dawkins@downstate.edu
  13. Edwin DeLoatch, Senior Client Manager, Turning Point, edeloatch@tpbk.org
  14. Elliot Dehaan, Director of HCV Services, Suny Downstate - STAR Program, elliot.dehaan@downstate.edu
  15. Georgene Servio, Suny Downstate - STAR Programgeorgene.servio@downstate.edu
  16. Greg Romenski, Patient Advocate, Russian Community Outreach, gregromen@yahoo.com
  17. Harold Smith, Pharmacy Rep, Ascan Pharmacy, ascanpharmacy@live.com
  18. Jack DeHovitz, Medical Director, SUNY Downstate, Jack.DeHovitz@downstate.edu
  19. James Spellman, Senior Medical Scientist, GileadJames.Spellman@gilead.com
  20. Jeff Sorensen, Sales Manager, Merckjeffery.sorensen@merck.com
  21. Jessica  Bonilla, Sales Rep, Kings Pharmacy, jessica.b@kingsrx.com
  22. Jessica  Yagner, STAR Program, jessica.yager@downstate.edu
  23. Jessie Schwartz, Clinical Coordinator, DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis, jschwartz2@health.nyc.gov
  24. Joseph Paul, Medical Director, Pierre Toussaint Family Health CenterKingsbrook Jewish Hospital jpaul@kingsbrook.org
  25. Julia Phillips, Public Health Educator/CBO Liaison, DOHMH STD Control, jphillip@health.nyc.gov
  26. Kevin Tate, C.I.B, chri.cibi5@gmail.com
  27. Keyiana Puryear, Senior Outreach Coordinator, Bridging Access to Care, Kpuryear@bac-ny.org
  28. Kyle Wanger, Hep C Clinical educator, Gilead, kyle.wanger@gilead.com
  29. Maha Attieh, Health Program Manager, The Arab-American Family Support, Center maha@aafscny.org
  30. Margarita Cabral, NYC Housing Authority, margaritacabral2@verizon.net
  31. Marie  Abdullah, MD, Director, Kings County Hospital, marie.abd@nychhc.org
  32. Marta Giammarino, Sales Rep, Kings Pharmacy, marta.g@kingsrx.com
  33. Megan Haseltine, Health Program Administrator, NYS DOH, megan.haseltine@health.state.ny.us
  34. Melissa Goldberg, Executive Customer Representative Virology, Merck, mrsmantz@yahoo.com
  35. Nehemias Dias, Focus Group, Interfaith Medical Center,  nidiaz@interfaithmedical.org
  36. Nesta Williams, Executive Specialty Representative, Merck, nesta.williams1@merck.com
  37. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  38. Penina  Fausten,  Program Coordinator, NBLCA, pfausten@nblca.com
  39. Prameela  Rao, Hepatologist, SUNY Downstate, prameela.rao@downstate.edu
  40. Rick Anthony Richards, Program Coordinator, NBLCA, rarichards@nblca.org
  41. Sergey Vishnev, Regional Sales Specialist, Quality Specialty Pharmacy, s.vishnev@gmail.com
  42. Tracey Griffith, Hep C Coordinator, Suny Downstate - STAR Program, tracey.griffith@downstate.edu
  43. Wai Chan, Sales, AbbVie, wai.chan@abbvie.com
  44. Xiomara Wallace, Community Relations Representative, Empire BlueCross BlueShield Healthplus, Xiomara.wallace@empireblue.com
 
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2015 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp