Copy
View this email in your browser
Bronx Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights
January 29th (2:45 - 5 PM)
Lincoln Medical Center: 1st Floor Conference Center Room 4
In attendance, see below
Evaluate the NYC Hep C Task Force by taking this very brief survey
Hep C RNA Reflex Testing: Presentation and implementation discussion - Perminder Khosa, MPH - Bureau of Communicable Disease, NYC Department of Health - pkhosa@health.nyc.gov
  • See presentation slides online
  • Learn more about the Hep C RNA Reflex Test
  • Goal of Reflex Hep C RNA testing is to get a complete diagnosis in one step.
  • Obstacles reported by the group: Antibody testing in house while RNA sent to lab; differing specimen requirements for each test; rapid testing only in some sites; unfunded staff time/training to initiate testing with phlebotomy; lack of insurance coverage to pay for test; cost; provider education and outreach needed (misconception that HCV RNA is not need if LFTs are normal as example).
  • If you have additional feedback regarding the utility of HCV RNA Reflex Testing, click here to comment.
National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS (NBLCA) Hep C Initiative
Rick-Anthony Richards, Project Coordinator - Community Mobilization - rarichards@nblca.org
Leatrice Wactor - NBLCA - lwactor@nblca.org Hep C Advocacy Update Reports from the field - Current issues, concerns and questions about Hep C in the Bronx:
  • Need for a HCV treatment education forum appropriate for service providers and patients.
  • Need for HCV Health Promotion (health education & motiviational interviewing) and Treatment Readiness Curriculum for service providers to provide to patients.
  • Currently known HCV education resources can be found on the Task Force website, click here.
My Experiences With Hepatitis C
My name is Andrew Styles and I was diagnosed with Hepatitis C in 2000. I am the first patient at Mount Sinai Hospital’s IMA Primary Care Hepatitis C clinic to start the newest treatment to cure HCV (using sofosbuvir/interferon/ribavirin). My first injection was on January 15, 2014 and my treatment will end on April 9, 2014 (only 12 weeks!). Read more
The Year Ahead
Opportunities
Resources

In Attendance

  • Aisha Thomas - Gilead - aisha.thomas@gilead.com
  • Ali Mohamed, MD - Bronx Lebanon - aliwow36@gmail.com
  • Andrew Brown, MD - Bronx Lebanon - andrewbrown922@gmail.com
  • Bernadine - The Sharing Community -
  • Brauley De LaRosa, Hep C Patient Navigator - Mount Sinai - brauley.delarosa@mountsinai.org
  • Carlos Manuel Gonzalez - The Sharing Community - cgonzalez@thesharingcommunity.org
  • Carlos Rosario, Bronx HIV Advocacy Network Leader - Boom!Health - crosario@boomhealth.org
  • Clara Cardelle - Washington Heights Corner Project - cardelle17@gmail.com
  • David Fiumaro - GlaxoSmithKline - david.x.fiumaro@gsk.com
  • Dierdre Wallace-Hines, LCSW - AIDS Healthcare Foundation, Pharmacy Specialist - dierdre.wallace-hines@aidhealth.org
  • Elaine Kaniaris - Kingbrook Long-term Homecare - ekaniaris@kbhhomecare.com
  • Eleise Smith-Menjivar, Patient Navigator Supervisor - Boom!Health - emenjivar@boomhealth.org
  • George Smith - Lincoln Hospital - george.smith@nychhc.org
  • Jasveen Batra, MD - Bronx Lebanon - jasveenbatra@gmail.com
  • Jocelyn Camadho, Outreach Coordinator  - Mount Sinai - Jocelyn.camacho@mountsinai.org
  • Katy Barbecho - The Sharing Community - katy@thesharingcommunity.org
  • Kirk Randolph - BMSV - kirk.a.randolph@bms.com
  • Korin Parrella - Mount Sinai - korin.parrella@mountsinai.org
  • Krista Burdick - Merck - krista.burdick@merck.com
  • Laura Nicoletti - Echo Salveo Pharmacy - lnicoletti511@yahoo.com
  • Lauren Deakin - Bronxworks - ldeakin@bronxworks.org
  • Leatrice Wactor - NBLCA - lwactor@nblca.org
  • Lilupa Lipa - Bronx Lebanon -
  • Malta Cerino - COPE - maltabarrio12@aol.com
  • Megan Haseltine - NYS DOH - mch10@health.state.ny.us
  • Natalie Kil, MPH - Mount Sinai Hep C Program - natalie.kil@mountsinai.org
  • Nitasha Sharma, MD - Bronx Lebanon - nitasha17@hotmail.com
  • Nirah Johnson - njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  • Perminder Khosa, MPH - DOHMH -
  • Rick-Anthony Richards - National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS (NBLCA) - rarichards@nblca.org
  • Robert Oliveras - Port Morris Wellness Center - romorris2010@gmail.com
  • Robert Suarez - Washington Heights Corner Project/Peer Network Vocal NY - robertsuarez@gmail.com
  • Russell Perry, MD - Bronx Lebanon - rperry@bronxleb.org
  • Sarah Berk, MPH - DOHMH - sberk@health.nyc.gov
  • Sheron Blount - The Sharing Community - sheron@thesharingcommunity.org
  • Steven Maugual - LeMed Pharmacy - steven.lemedrx@gmail.com
  • Wilma Toribio - Mount Sinai - wilma.toribio@mountsinai.org
New Laws
NY Hep C ‘Baby Boomer’ Testing Law is in effect! See new Frequently Asked Questions document from NYS Department of Health.

Pharmacy Choice: NYS Law A05502B  prohibits health insurers from requiring insureds purchase prescribed drugs from mail order pharmacy. If the consumer does not have a clear option, a complaint can be filed through Attorney General's Health Care Consumer's Help Line 1-800-342-3736.

Standard Prior Authorization Form in Mediciad FFS & Managed Care: NYS Law went into effect July 8, 2013
Share
Tweet
Forward to Friend
+1
Share
Copyright © 2014 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp