Copy
Hep Free NYC is a network building capacity to prevent, manage and treat Hep B and C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 


Queens Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights

November 30, 2016 (3 - 5 PM)
Queens Borough Hall 120-55 Queens Blvd, Kew Gardens
In Attendance: See Below
Meeting Highlights

Welcome

Nirah Johnson, LCSW (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov) & Daniel Calder, MPH, (dcalder@health.nyc.gov) NYC Health Dept 

Hep Free NYC - Faith Based Initiative 
Daniel Leyva, Deputy to the President, Latino Commission on AIDS (dleyva@latinoaids.org)

The Hep Free NYC Faith Based Initiative:
  • Connects faith based organizations (FBOs), and those with interest and experience in faith-based outreach, to raise awareness about hepatitis in faith communities. 
  • Views faith leaders as gatekeepers and stakeholders in the community, and allows for better access to diverse communities.
  • In February, will host an Interfaith Service on Hepatitis Awareness.
  • Will facilitate participation of faith leaders in the commemoration of World Hepatitis Day, Hepatitis Testing Day and National Hispanic Hepatitis Awareness Day.
  • View presentation slides online.
Hep C Services at Brightpoint Health - Sutphin Health Center
Barbara C. Zeller MD, Chief Clinical Officer, Brightpoint Health (bzeller@brightpointhealth.org)
  • Brighpoint Health is a Federally Qualified Health Center providing Hep C treatment in an integrated care mode including: primary care services, behavioral health integration, and infectious diseases specialists.
  • Brightpoint is a NYS DOH Hep C Comprehensive Care Program, with linkage to care support and the HepCap program for the uninsured.
  • The Sutphin Health Center is located at 105-04 Sutphin Blvd, Jamaica, Queens.
  • View presentation slides online.
Hep C Policy Update: Statewide Elimination Summit and Beyond
Eric Rude, Director of Viral Hepatitis Policy and Development, NYC Health Dept (erude@health.nyc.gov)
  • Purpose of the Hep C Elimination Summit is to develop and implement a statewide strategy to eliminate Hep C infection.
  • Objectives of the summit are: 1) convene a diverse stakeholder meeting of policymakers, Hep C specialists and medical providers, payers, and community advocates; 2) review gaps in Hep C policies and programs; 3) present the findings and recommendations from the five working groups and produce a consensus document proposing a strategy for Hep C elimination; 4) identify additional research, infrastructure and resources required to scale up Hep C testing, prevention, care, supportive services, treatment, and address social determinants.
  • The Summit is planned for February 7th, in Albany.
  • The Summit will have national speakers from NASTAD, CDC, Academy of Medicine, and HRSA.
  • Aiming to have as many community members as possible to attend.  If you would like to attend, email Clifton Garman at clifton@vocal-ny.org 
NYC Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative 2016 Final Reports

Check Hep C Patient Navigation Program
  • In 2016, NYC Council allocated $430,502 for Check Hep C to fund 1-2 full-time patient navigators at five program sites to provide linkage to care and clinical care coordination services.
  • From January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016, Check Hep C served 722 patients living with Hep C. In that time, 358 started treatment and have likely been cured.
NYC Hep C Peer Navigation Program at Syringe Exchange Programs
  • In 2016, NYC Council allocated $337,504 for Check Hep C to fund peer navigators at 15 Injection Drug User Health Alliance (IDUAHA) syringe exchange programs to provide outreach to people at risk for Hep C, Hep C prevention services, and linkage to and retention in Hep C medical care.
  • From January 1, 2014 to June 30, 2016, 3,664 people living with or risk for Hep C were enrolled and received Hep C health coaching and prevention services. 472 Hep C patients were referred to medical care and 51 started Hep C treatment. 
Hep Free NYC Committee Updates
Daniel Calder, MPH NYC Health Dept
2015 EpiQuery Surveillance Data Now Available!
Use EpiQuery, an online interactive health data system, to find Hep B and Hep C prevalence estimates, rates over time, bar charts, neighborhood maps, and more. Click "Communicable Disease Surveillance Data" under “Surveillance Modules.”

HepCap: NYS DOH funded Hep C care for the uninsured.

Upcoming Events

Meeting | Citywide Hep C Task Force. December 12 (3 - 5 PM). Mount Sinai - Beth Israel: 10 Union Square East 2nd Floor Friedman Conference Center

Webinar | Talking About SBIRT for Adolescents: An Upstream Intervention to Address the Heroin and Prescription Opioid Epidemic. December 14 (1:00 - 2:30 PM)
In Attendance
  1. Allen Chiang Community Health Worker American Cancer Society Allen.chiang@cancer.org
  2. Amiyr Holland Linkage to Care Specialist Brightpoint Health Amiyrh7354@gmail.com
  3. Ann Winters Medical Epidemiologist DOHMH awinters@health.nyc.gov
  4. Barbara Zeller Chief Clinical Officer Brightpoint Health  bzeller@brightpointhealth.org
  5. Bryan Baylis Hep C/HIV Sales Merck bryan_baylis@merck.com
  6. Courtney Dower Program Manager Bronx-Lebanon  Family Medicine cdower@bronxleb.org
  7. Daniel Leyva Deputy to the President Latino Commission on AIDS dleyva@latinoaids.org
  8. Daniel Calder Outreach Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  9. Eric Rude Director of Viral Hepatitis Policy and Development DOHMH erude@health.nyc.gov
  10. Eric Driver Associate Manager of CTR/Outreach/Hep C AIDS Service Center NYC eric@ascnyc.org
  11. Frida Abramov Medical Affairs Gilead Frida.abramov@gilead.com
  12. Helen Vays Director of Key Corporate Accounts City Drugs Specialty Pharmacy Helen.vays@citydrugs.com
  13. Jennifer Sanchez Project Manager Mount Sinai Hospital jennifer.sanchez@mountsinai.org
  14. Levar Nero Account Manager Brighpoint Health lnero@brightpointhealth.org
  15. Lismeiry Paulino Patient Navigator Mount Sinai Hospital lismeiry.paulino@mountsinai.org
  16. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH  njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  17. Shaila Rao MPH, Dir Outreach DOHMH-TB srao1@health.nyc.gov
  18. Stacey Martinez Patient Navigator Mount Sinai Hospital stacey.martinez@mountsinai.org
  19. Susan Tanenbaum, Queens Immigration Task Force Leader  STANENBAUM@queensbp.org 
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2016 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp