Copy
The NYC Hepatitis B Coalition Mission is to coordinate efforts to prevent, manage and reduce hepatitis B among all residents of New York City. The coalition seeks to foster an inclusive collaboration among all stakeholders to advance hepatitis B awareness, screening, access to care, and vaccination through education, outreach, advocacy and support of research. www.nychepbc.org
View this email in your browser
Like Meeting Highlights: Feb 5th NYC Hepatitis B Coalition on Facebook
share on Twitter


NYC Hepatitis B Coalition Meeting Highlights
Wednesday, February 5th (3 - 5 PM)
At American Cancer Society: 132 West 32nd Street
In attendance: See Below
Hepatitis B Screening Recommendations Make the Grade!
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) issued a "B" grade, recommending screening for hepatitis B virus in persons at high risk, including people born in countries where the prevalence of the disease is greater than 2%, as well as those who were born in the US, but have at least one parent who was born in a region with a high prevalence. Read the full USPSTF draft recommendations.

Action Alert! The USPSTF draft recommendations is open for public comment through March 10, 2014.
Meeting Highlights

Member Updates:
  • African Services Committee: FREE hep B & C testing and hep B vaccines!
    • Mon-Fri 9am-4pm (Walk-In) at 429 W 127th St, 2nd floor, Harlem.
  • Charles B. Wang Community Health Center: FREE hep B vaccines!
    • Call to make an appointment: Chinatown, Manhattan (212.379.6996) or Flushing (718.886.1200)
  • Need an intern? Touro School of Pharmacy Internship Program.
    • Contact: Dipan Ray (dipan.ray@touro.edu)

NYC DOHMH Viral Hepatitis Program Update
Nirah Johnson, LMSW - Viral Hepatitis Prevention, Surveillance  & Control Program now in the Bureau of Communicable Disease, NYC DOHMH (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov)


Hep B in Youth: Surveillance Update [PDF slides]
Janette Yung, MPH - Epidemiologist, NYC DOHMH (jyung@health.nyc.gov)

Liver Cancer & Clinical Trials [PDF slides]
Abby Siegel, MD, MS (aas54@cumc.columbia.edu), Tony Wang, MD (tjw2117@cumc.columbia.edu), & Christine Hsu, MD (cch2146@columbia.edu) -- New York Presbyterian Hospital & Columbia University Medical Center

Chinatown Lunar New Year Event Recap [PDF slides]
1st Annual Team HBV NYC Participation - over 200 Hep B advocates raised awareness!
Jeffrey Sung, Team HBV NYC President (js987@cornell.edu)



Update on National Coalitions

Policy & Advocacy
Introduction of Justin Fung, New! NYC Hep B Coalition Advocacy Chair
  • APA Advocacy Day in Albany on Tuesday, March 25th. Issues: Hep B, DREAM Act, data disaggregation, mental health, school holidays (LNY). If interested in participating, contact Niki (nbannister@cbwchc.org)
  • Congrats to the Coalition members for receiving the Guiness World Record for participating in the 2013 World Hepatitis Day event of the most people performing 'see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil' in 24 hours (26,204 participants around the world)

NYC Hep B Coalition Year Plan & Closing comments
Mark your calendars! 2014 Meeting Dates
Location: American Cancer Society - 132 W 32nd St
  • Next Meeting: Wed, April 30th (3-5 PM)
  • Wednesday, August 27th (3-5PM)
  • Wednesday, November 12th (3-5 PM)
Please evaluate the NYC Hep B Coalition by taking this brief Survey!
Over 200 volunteers participated on Sunday, Feb 2nd in the Chinatown Lunar New Year Event !

Check out more pictures & videos on Team HBV NYC's Facebook page!
In attendance:
  • Aaron Vanderhoff - African Services Committee (aaronv@africanservices.org)
  • Abby Siegel, MD - CUMC (aas54@columbia.edu)
  • Amina Khawaja - NYC DOHMH (akhawja@health.nyc.gov)
  • Angel Chen - CBWCHC (angechen@cbwchc.org)
  • Carol Nguyen - Gilead (carol.nguyen@gilead.com)
  • Christine Hsu, MD - CUMC (cch2146@columbia.edu)
  • David Fiumaro - GSK Vaccines (david.x.fiumaro@gsk.com)
  • Edward Wake - NYC DOHMH (ewake@health.nyc.gov)
  • Ijeoma Elobuike - NYC DOHMH (ielobuike@health.nyc.gov)
  • Janette Yung - NYC DOHMH (jyung@health.nyc.gov)
  • Jeffrey Sung - Team HBV NYC (js987@cornell.edu)
  • Justin Fung - SK Holdings (justinwfung@gmail.com)
  • Katelynn Devinney - NYC DOHMH (kdevinney@health.nyc.gov)
  • Maria Karlya - CBWCHC (mkarlya@cbwchc.org)
  • Mike Duncan - Vocal-NY & After Hours (mjsduncan@gmail.com)
  • Niki Bannister - CBWCHC (nbannister@cbwchc.org)
  • Nirah Johnson - NYC DOHMH (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov)
  • Sarah Berk - NYC DOHMH (sberk@health.nyc.gov)
  • Sara Kim - Korean Community Services (sskim@kcsny.org)
  • Sofia Terner - NYC DOHMH (sf2550@columbia.edu)
  • Tony Wang, MD - CUMC (tjw2117@columbia.edu)
  • Vinh Pham, MD - Bellevue Hospital (vinh.pham@nyumc.org)
  • Violetta Shamilova - Touro School of Pharmacy (vshamilo@student.touro.edu)
  • Vivian Huang, MD - CBWCHC (vwhuang@cbwchc.org)
Coalition Network Opportunities

Jobs
Funding 
  • Korean American Community Foundation. Community Grants. Deadline is Tuesday, February 18th (5PM).
New Resources
  • Hep B Speakers Bureau Media Training (Webinar video, slides only, toolkit)
  • Hep B & Reducing Perinatal Transmission: An Overview & Discussion of New Tools (Webinar video)
Upcoming Events
Physician Survey | Hep B Screening Practices
Physicians providing care to people born outside of the US:please take this brief survey on hepatitis B screening practices. Click here to take brief survey
CDC's Know Hepatitis B Campaign PSA
APIAHF's PSA on the ACA
"Gangnam Style"
Youth & Student Initiative
Like TEAM HBV Facebook Page!
Know Hepatitis B Campaign Materials
Share
Tweet
+1
Share
Forward to Friend
Copyright © 2014 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp