Copy
Hep Free NYC is a network building capacity to prevent, manage and treat Hep B and C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 


Citywide Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights

December 12, 2016 (3 - 5 PM)
Mount Sinai - Beth Israel: 10 Union Square East
In Attendance: See Below
Meeting Highlights

Welcome

Nirah Johnson, LCSW (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov) & Daniel Calder MPH, NYC Health Dept (dcalder@health.nyc.gov)
NYC Health Department Hep C Surveillance Update
Angelica Bocour MPH, Viral Hepatitis Surveillance Director, NYC Health Dept (abocour@health.nyc.gov)
  • There were 7,328 newly reported Hep C cases in NYC in 2015.
  • Half were born between 1945-1965.
  • Almost two-thirds were male.
  • There was a slight decrease in newly reported cases from 2014 to 2015 among all age groups except 20- 39 year olds.
  • The Hep C-related death rate is nearly the same as the HIV-related death rate in 2014.
  • View presentation slides online.
Impact of a State-level Hep C Testing Law on Hep C Screening and Linkage to Care
Megan Haseltine LMSW, Hepatitis C Rapid Screening Coordinator, NYS Health Dept (megan.haseltine@health.state.ny.us)
  • The NYS Hep C Testing Law was enacted in January 1, 2014 to increase Hep C screening and ensure timely Hep C diagnosis and linkage to care.
  • Key provisions of the law:
    1) Hep C screening test must be offered to people born between 1945 and 1965 receiving: health services as an inpatient of a hospital or services in a primary care setting; services from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner providing primary care regardless of setting type.
    2) If an individual accepts the offer and tests antibody positive, the health care provider must offer or refer to follow-up health care.
  • Overall, the number of Hep C screening tests increased 51.1% from 2013 to 2014.
  • View presentation slides online.
NYC Council Viral Hepatitis Initiative Outcomes 

Check Hep C Patient Navigation Program
  • In 2016, NYC Council allocated $430,502 for Check Hep C to fund five organizations to hire patient navigators to provide linkage to care and clinical care coordination services.
  • From January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016, Check Hep C served 722 patients living with Hep C. In that time, 358 started treatment and have likely been cured.
NYC Hep C Peer Navigation Program at Syringe Exchange Programs
  • In 2016, NYC Council allocated $337,504 for the Hep C Peer Navigation Program to fund 15  15 Injection Drug User Health Alliance (IDUHA) syringe exchange programs to hire peer navigators to provide outreach to people at risk for Hep C, prevention services, navigation through complete diagnositc testing, linkage to care, retention in care and reinfection prevention.
  • From January 1, 2014 to June 30, 2016, 3,664 people living with or risk for Hep C were enrolled and received Hep C health coaching and prevention services and testing if needed. 472 Hep C patients were referred to medical care and 51 were known to have started Hep C treatment. 
View Check Hep C and the Hep C Peer Navigation Program 2016 Final Reports.

Project INSPIRE: Hep C Comprehensive Care Coordination Program Update
Marie Bresnahan MPH, Director of Project INSPIRE, NYC Health Dept (mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov)
  • Project INSPIRE is a CMS Health Care Innovations-funded comprehensive care coordination program that aims to reduce Hep C-related health complications and health care costs. 
  • The overall goals of Project INSPIRE is to: provide treatment for Hep C to Medicaid and Medicare patients; demonstrate better health outcomes; and demonstrate cost savings.
  • To date, the program has enrolled 2,471 patients and is actively recruiting more patients. Enrollment closes February 28, 2017. Find referral info here.
  • 783 (69%) of Project INSPIRE participants initiated treatment, most will be cured.
  • View presentation slides online.
NYC Hep C Policy Update: Statewide Elimination Summit and Beyond
Eric Rude, Director of Viral Hepatitis Policy and Development, NYC Health Dept (erude@health.nyc.gov)
  • Purpose of the Hep C Elimination Summit is to develop and implement a statewide strategy to eliminate Hep C infection.
  • Objectives of the summit are: 1) convene a diverse stakeholder meeting of policymakers, Hep C specialists and medical providers, payers, and community advocates; 2) review gaps in Hep C policies and programs; 3) present the findings and recommendations from the five working groups and produce a consensus document proposing a strategy for Hep C elimination; 4) identify additional research, infrastructure and resources required to scale up Hep C testing, prevention, care, supportive services, treatment, and address social determinants.
  • Consensus document will be reviewed by NYC Hep C Task Force Partners.
  • The Summit is planned for February 7th, in Albany.
  • Aiming to have as many community members as possible to attend.  If you would like to attend, email Clifton Garman at clifton@vocal-ny.org 
  • View presentation slides online.
Discussion:
  • Getting available testing and care site info out to pubic and providers - ideas? Email to: njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  • We will send a survey out in early 2017 to solicit feedback on 2017 Hep C Task Force planning.
NYC Hep C Task Force Committees

Resources


Data
2015 NYC Health Dept Hep B & C Annual Report of  Surveillance and Activities

Also see: EpiQuery, an online interactive health data system, to find Hep B and Hep C prevalence estimates, rates over time, bar charts, neighborhood maps, and more. Click "Communicable Disease Surveillance Data" under “Surveillance Modules.”

Upcoming Events

Training | Hepatitis 101 February 15, 2017 (9:00 am – 1:00 pm) @ NYC Health Dept - Long Island City

Job Board
>> See more Jobs
In Attendance
  1. Amber Casey Deputy Director DOHMH acasey@health.nyc.gov
  2. Angel Cotto Linkage to Care Navigator Wyckoff Heights Medical Center Hepatitis C Program acotto@wyckoffhospital.org
  3. Angelica Bocour Viral Hepatitis Surveillance Director DOHMH abocour@health.nyc.gov
  4. Annette Gaudino HCV Project Co-Director Treatment Action Group annette.gaudino@treatmentactiongroup.org
  5. Arielle Yarczower Harm Reduction Coordinator Community Health Action of Staten Island arielle.yarczower@chasiny.org
  6. Ann Winters Medical Director Viral Hepatitis Program DOHMH  awinters@health.nyc.gov 
  7. Cedrick Terrell, Patient Navigator   Care for the Homeless cterrell@cfhnyc.org
  8. Celia Murnock Data Manager Mount Sinai celia.murnock@mssm.edu
  9. Courtney Dower, Program Manager Bronx-Lebanon Family Medicine cdower@bronxleb.org
  10. Daniel Calder Outreach Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  11. Darrin Maxwell  Hepatitis C Coordinator Callen-Lorde Community Health Center darrinbenjaminmaxwell@gmail.com
  12. Diana Diaz-Munoz Program Manager DOHMH ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  13. Ed  Al Sayed Pharm.D Mount Sinai ahmed.ae.pharm@gmail.com
  14. Elaine West Peer Navigator VOCAL-NY eshortydoowop@gmail.com
  15. Emily Caroline Snell Patient Navigator MS Beth Israel Opioid Treatment Program esnell@chpnet.org
  16. Eric Rude Director of Viral Hepatitis Policy and Development DOHMH erude@health.nyc.gov
  17. Frida Abramov Medical Affairs Gilead Frida.abramov@gilead.com
  18. Gail Brown Policy Advocate COPE gbrown.cope@gmail.com
  19. Gertrude Whitaker Registered Nurse tjwhitaker@gmail.com
  20. Henrich Boahene Program Specialist BronxWorks hboahene@bronxworks.org
  21. Jasmine Muniz-Cadorette Program Coordinator Brightpoint Health jcadorette@brightpointhealth.org
  22. Jazmin Rivera TYSA Project Coordinator Staten Island Partnership for Community Wellness jazmin@sipcw.org
  23. Jenna Butner MD Esperanza Medical Clinic Jbutnermd@gmail.com 
  24. Jerry Loschiavo Territory Sales Executive CVS SPECIALTY Gerald.loschiavo@cvscaremark.com
  25. Jessica Steinke Program Coordinator Mount Sinai jessica.steinke@mountsinai.org
  26. Julia Phillips Public Health Educator/CBO Liaison DOHMH STD Control jphillip@health.nyc.gov
  27. Kathleen Bernock NP Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center KBernock@bsfhc.org
  28. Leanne Demery Program Specialist BronxWorks ldemery@bronxworks.org
  29. Liz Smyth Empire Liver Foundation elizabeth_kula@yahoo.com
  30. Lucy Vega Hep C Patient Navigator Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center LVega@BSFHC.org
  31. Luis Perez Pharmacy Specialist/Advocate AIDS Healthcare Foundation luis.r.perez@aidshealth.org
  32. Margarita Cabral Program Analyst NYC Housing Authority margaritacabral2@verizon.net
  33. Marie Bresnahan Project Director DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  34. Marlene Lalota Regional Director AIDS Healthcare Foundation marlene.lalota@aidshealth.org
  35. Megan Haseltine Health Program Administrator NYS DOH AIDS Institute megan.haseltine@health.state.ny.us
  36. Melissa Ip Communications Coordinator DOHMH mip@health.nyc.gov
  37. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH  njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  38. Patricia  McDarby Nursing Director  Center for Comprehensive Health Practice pmcdarby@cchphealthcare.org
  39. Pooja Jani, MD, Preventative Medicine Resident, NYC Health Dept
  40. Ramesh Smith Outreach Marketing Specialist  Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center rameshsmith@yahoo.com
  41. Reinadlo Arroyo Peer Educator The Osborne Association rarroyo@osborneny.org
  42. Richard Medina Linkage to Care Specialist The Osborne Association rmedina@osborneny.org
  43. Ronald Dempsey Living Positive Inc rdempsey@lpositive.org
  44. Sarah Penrose NP  Mount Sinai sarah.penrose@mountsinai.org
  45. Serene Mastrianni Hospital Account Manager OraSure Technologies Inc. smastrianni@orasure.com
  46. Shale Maulana Eval. Coordinator  DOHMH-Viral Hep smaulana@health.nyc.gov
  47. Stacey Martinez Patient Navigator  Mount Sinai Hospital STACEY.MARTINEZ@MOUNTSINAI.ORG
  48. Star-Ovidia Benitez Patient Navigator Community Health Action of Staten Island star-ovidia.benitez@chasiny.org
  49. Stephanie Weiner, Intern Viral Hepatitis Program DOHMH sweiner3@health.nyc.gov
  50. Sue Preziotti Intern DOHMH sue.preziotti@yahoo.com
  51. Suzanne Davis Program Manager Bedford Stuyvesant Family Health Center SRobinsonDavis@bsfhc.org
  52. Tatiana Vera Health Educator/Linkage to Care Specialist Montefiore Medical Center  tvera@montefiore.org
  53. Thaddeus Pham Viral Hepatitis Prevention Coordinator Hawaii Department of Health Thaddeus.Pham@doh.hawaii.gov
  54. Timeka Toussaint Program Specialist BronxWorks ttoussaint@bronxworks.org
  55. Tyler Evans MD Director of Communicable Diseases and Clinical Research Community HealthCare Network tevans@chnnyc.org
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2016 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp