Copy
Hep Free NYC is a network building capacity to prevent, manage and treat Hep B and C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 
Staten Island Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights

Tuesday August 16, 2016 (3 - 5 PM)
25 Victory Blvd. (3rd Floor) Staten Island, 10301
In attendance: See Below
Welcome
Nirah Johnson (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov) & Daniel Calder (dcalder@health.nyc.gov), NYC Health Dept  Introduction to the new Brighpoint Health location at 57 Bay Street
Future Hep C Care and Treatment Plans
Roberta Kelly  MSN, FNP-BC - Brightpoint Health (rkelly@brightpointhealth.org)
  • Brighpoint Health is a Federally Qualified Health Center providing services in an integrated care model.
  • The Brighpoint Bay Street Health Center is located on 57 Bay Street, Staten Island
  • The Bay Street Health Center provides: primary care services, pediatrics, OB/GYN, dental care, adolescent medicine, and infectious disease (in development).
  • Provides hepatitis screening, and will soon have a medical doctor on-site, one day per week, who will provide Hep C treatment.
  • Brightpoint uses a harm reduction approach, will treat patients who are actively using drugs.
  • The Center does not turn away patients, and works on a sliding fee for those who do not have insurance.
  • To make an appointment, call 855-681-8700.
  • View presentation slides.

Updates on the Tackling Youth Substance Abuse (TYSA) Program at Staten Island Partnership for Community Wellness
Jazmin Rivera, TYSA (jazmin@sipcw.org)
  • TYSA seeks to drive major improvements in youth substance abuse prevention and treatment in Staten Island by reducing use substance abuse rates.
  • Current projects include the Bathroom Signage Campaign, Naloxone Expansion, Prevention & Harm Reduction Education
  • TYSA partnered with the Hep C Task Force and was awarded a grant from the Birdsnest Foundation to develop a Hep C Prevention in Youth Video PSA. This video will display the progression from prescription drug use to addiction, intra-nasal and injection administration and heroin use, and the associated risk for acquiring Hep C.
  • For more information about these projects, view the presentation slides.

The NYC Hep C Peer Navigation Program at the Community Health Action of Staten Island (CHASI)
Evelyn Parrinello (Evelyn.Parrinello@CHASINY.org), Hep C Peer Navigation Program Supervisor  & Lawrence Jackson, Hep C Peer Navigator (ljackson2249@yahoo.com) CHASI
  • The NYC Hep C Peer Navigation Program is an initiative that strives to prevent new Hep C infections and get Hep C patients into Hep C medical care and treatment to cure the infection.
  • NYC Council has funded the program since 2014 to employ peer navigators at Injection Drug Users Health Alliance (IDUHA) syringe exchange programs, including CHASI.
  • CHASI provides hepatitis testing at numerous locations throughout Staten Island and on mobile health units – and provides linkage to care for hepatitis patients.
  • The CHASI peers provide Hep C focused health coaching, and navigation through Hep C testing, medical care, and other health services.
Hepatitis C Policy Advocacy Update
Carlos Rosario, VOCAL - NY (carlos@vocal-ny.org) Developing a resource card to increase Hepatitis screening among Injection Drug Users
Stephanie Weiner, NYC Health Dept (sweiner3@health.nyc.gov)
  • Stephanie Weiner, an Intern at the NYC Health Department, created a resource card to increase Hepatitis screening among injection drug users in Staten Island, and to direct them to care.
  • With the help of local community organizations, the resource card will be distributed in appropriate neighborhoods and areas of Staten Island.
  • View the presentation and draft resource card.
  • If you have any feedback about the card, email Stephanie.

Hep Free NYC Committee Updates
Daniel Calder, NYC Health Dept (dcalder@health.nyc.gov)
 
Resources

Press Release | NYC Health Department Highlights New Preliminary Data on Hepatitis B and C in Recognition of Hepatitis Awareness Month

NYC Health Dept Hep B & C Annual Report (2014). NYC Health Department's latest report containing key hepatitis B and C activities and surveillance data through 2014. View full report.

HepCure Webinar | Hep C Treatment for Substance Users

HepCap: NYS DOH funded Hep C care for the uninsured.

EpiQuery: NYC Health Dept online data portal.

Upcoming Events

Training | FREE Community Overdose Prevention Training @ NYC Health Dept. August 31 (10:00 AM - 12:00 PM).

Start Planning for National African Immigrant & Refugee HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis Awareness Day. September 9.

Conference | 4th Annual Conference on African Immigrant Health. September 15-18. Queens, NY

Hep C Educational Support Group at Mount Sinai Beth Israel.  September 14 (5:30 - 7:00 PM)

VOCAL - NY 2016 Annual Gala. September 21 (6:00 - 9:00 PM) 

Seminar | Hep C/HIV: Impact on the Hispanic Community. September 22 (6:00 - 8:00 PM)

Funding Opportunities 

Request for Proposal - Hep C Patient Navigation Program Funding – NYC Health Dept (Due 9/7/16)
The Fund for Public Health in New York City on behalf of the NYC Health Department is seeking proposals from Clinical Sites interested in implementing a Check Hep C Patient Navigation Program. 
 
In Attendance:
  1. Betsy Dubovsky, Executive Director, The Staten Island Foundation,  dubovsky@thestatenislandfoundation.org
  2. Betsy Pecora, Pharmaceutical Rep, Gilead, betsy.pecora@gilead.com
  3. Carlos Rosario, Hep C Organizer,  VOCAL-NY, carlos@vocal-ny.org
  4. Dale Smith, Minister, Central Family Life Center
  5. Daniel Calder, Outreach Coordinator, DOHMH, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  6. David Etakpofe, Pastor, NBLCA, ojugo.david@gmail.com
  7. Donna Demarest, Director, Community Health Action of Staten Island, Donna.Demarest@chasiny.org
  8. Eric Eilenberg, CTR, Community Health Action of Staten Island, eric.eilenberg@chasiny.org
  9. Eric Driver, Associate Manager of CTR/Outreach/Hep C, AIDS Service Center NYC, eric@ascnyc.org
  10. Evelyn Parrinello, Info & Referral Specialist,  Community Health Action of Staten Island, EVELYN.PARRINELLO@CHASINY.ORG
  11. Helen Vasquez, Coordinator of Administrative Services, Central Family Life Center, hvasquez@centralfamilylifecenter.org
  12. Jason Kondrk, HCV Community Specialist,  Gilead, Jason.kondrk@gilead.com
  13. Jazmin Rivera, TYSA, Project Coordinator, Staten Island Partnership for Community Wellness, jazmin@sipcw.org
  14. Lawrence Jackson, Hep C Peer Navigator, Community Health Action of Staten Island, ljackson2249@yahoo.com
  15. Michelle Oberfeld, Marketing Manager, Nate's Pharmacy, Moberfeld@natespharmacy.com 
  16. Neshama Marcus, Director of Social Services and Disaster Relief,  Jewish Community Center of Staten Island,  nmarcus@sijcc.com
  17. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH,  njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  18. Roberta Kelly, Vice President of Practice Management, Brightpoint Health, rkelly@brightpointhealth.org
  19. Sarjita Naik, Medical Affairs, Gilead sarjita.naik@gilead.com
  20. Sharon Jensen, Director, Prison and Counseling & Testing Services, Community Health Action of Staten Island, sharon.jensen@chasiny.org    
  21. Stephanie Weiner, NYC Health Department Intern, DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis, sweiner3@health.nyc.gov
  22. Stephen Bennett, Dir. Of Prevention Services, United Activities Unlimited,  sbennett@unitedactivities.org
  23. Thomas Chempiel, Account Executive, AcariaHealth, Thomas.chempiel@acariahealth.com
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2016 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp