Copy
Coordinating efforts to prevent, manage and treat Hep C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 
Bronx Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights 

 April 6, 2016 (3 - 5 PM)  Lincoln Medical Center 234 east 146th Street, Bronx

See attendees below
Save the Date! 

National Hepatitis Testing Day &
Hispanic Hepatitis Awareness Day 

Awareness Event on the Steps of City Hall
May 12 (11 AM - Noon)

*If you are planning on hosting a hepatitis screening or event for Hepatitis Testing Day, let us know and we will post to our Hep Free NYC Calendar!

Meeting Highlights 


Welcome & Introductions 
Carlos Rosario, Chair of the Bronx Hep C Task Force (carlos@vocal-ny.org)
Nirah Johnson & Daniel Calder, NYC Health Dept (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov) (dcalder@health.nyc.gov) 

Project INSPIRE 
Kim Yu, MPH, Project Director, Project INSPIRE (kyu@montefiore.org) 
Sheila Reynoso, Outreach Coordinator, Project INSPIRE (sreynoso@montefiore.org
  • Project Inspire is a CMS Health Care Innovations funded comprehensive care coordination program that aims to reduce Hep C related health complications and health care costs. 
  • The overall goals of Project Inspire is to provide treatment for Hep C to Medicaid and Medicare patients; demonstrate better health outcomes; and demonstrate cost savings.
  • To date, the program has enrolled 1,575 patients in the program. To refer to this program call (844) CURE HCV
  • For presentation slides, click here 
End of Hep C Initiative 
Carlos Rosario, VOCAL - NY (carlos@vocal-ny.org)
  • The New York State Hepatitis C Coalition has released a 2016 State Budget and Legislative platform. For more information and to read the Legislative platform, click here
  • The New York State Drug Utilization Board will be convening on April 27 in Albany.  VOCAL-NY will be attending the meeting to advocate against Hepatitis C drug coverage restrictions and is providing transportation for those who would like to participate. For more information and to register for a seat on the bus, click here
  • VOCAL-NY can provide support for organizations that would like to engage in advocacy. Contact Carlos for more information.  
NY City Council Hepatitis B & C Initiative Update
  • Check Hep B and Check Hep C are NYC Council funded patient navigation programs administered by the NYC Health Dept Viral Hepatitis Program. The programs support Patient Navigation, including linkage to care and clinical care coordination services to persons chronically infected with Hep B or C. If you are interested in joining the program, fill out a brief form here 
  • The NYC Hep C Peer Navigation Program funds all 16 Injection Drug Users Health Alliance (IDUHA) syringe exchange and harm reduction programs to support 1-2 peer navigators to conduct outreach, prevention, linkage to care and rention in care services to people at risk for or living with Hep C. To view recent Task Force presentations on the program, click here
  • Empire Liver Foundation Clinical Mentoring program provides free weekly tele-medicine opportunities to community clinical providers (MD, NP, PA). To learn more and sign up, click here
Hep Free NYC Updates
Daniel Calder MPH, NYC Health Department 
Resources

NEW! NYC Health Dept Hep B & C Annual Report (2014). NYC Health Department's latest report containing key hepatitis B and C activities and surveillance data through 2014. View full report.

EpiQuery: NYC Health Dept online data portal.

Upcoming Events

Training | Hep C Screening and Linkage to Care. Thu, Apr 14 (9 - 5 PM). NYS AIDS Institute.

Meeting | NYC Hep B Coalition. Wed, Apr 27 (3 - 5 PM). 132 West 32nd Street, Manhattan. RSVP.

CME Symposium | HIV and Hep C Symposium. Sat, May 14. Clinical Care Options. For medical providers.

Call for Abstracts | 5th International Symposium on Hepatitis Care in Substance Users. Sep 7-9, Oslo. International Network for Hepatitis in Substance Users. Abstracts due Apr 22, 2016.

Call for Abstracts | 11th National Harm Reduction Conference. Nov 3-6. Harm Reduction Coalition, San Diego,CA. Abstracts due May 1, 2016.

Mobile Health Tools 

Text LIVER to 877 877
Learn about Hep B and C risk, find testing and treatment providers in your zip code of choice, and receive healthy liver tips! 

The NYC Liver Health App was developed by the NYC Health Department to provide hepatitis B and hepatitis C prevention, screening, care and treatment information and access tools to patients and providers. The NYC Liver Health App is available for free on iPhone and Android. Learn more and download at www.hepfree.nyc  
In Attendance 
  1. Ali Dilamani AbbVie ali.dilamani@abbvie.com
  2. Amiyr Holland Linkage to Care Specialist Brightpoint Health aholland@brightpointhealth.org
  3. Angela Acha HCV Community Specialist (Bronx/CT) Gilead angela.acha@gilead.com
  4. Anisha Lewin Outreach and Engagement Specialist Bailey House alewin@baileyhouse.org
  5. Bridget Hardy Account Manager Quality Specialty Pharmacy, bridget@qsprx.com
  6. Carlos Rosario Hep C Organizer  VOCAL-NY carlos@vocal-ny.org
  7. Charles Font Client Specialist Argus Community ACCESS II/III cfont@arguscommunity.org
  8. Cheriko Amour Boone  Research Coordinator New York University riko.boone@nyu.edu
  9. Christi Klossner Sales Rep AbbVie Christi.klossner@abbvie.com
  10. Cinthia Castro Patient Navigator  Harlem United Ccastro@harlemunited.org
  11. Damalia Jackson Associate Director NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation dmaliaj@gmail.com
  12. Daniel Calder Outreach Coordinator DOHMH dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  13. Diedre Wallace-Hine Social Worker/Pharmacy Rep AIDS Healthcare Foundation  diedre.wallace-hines@aidshealth.org
  14. Dorothy Johnson Linkage to Care Specialist Acacia Network djohnson@promesa.org
  15. Doug Reich, MD, Bronx Lebanon  dreich@bronxleb.org
  16. Edward Manchess Director of Harm Reduction Services BOOM!Health emanchess@boomhealth.org
  17. Gail Brown COPE gbrown.cope@gmail.com
  18. Healther Anderson Associate Director|FOCUS Regional Lead, New York City Gilead Heather.anderson2@gilead.com
  19. Jackie Acevedo-Villanueva Pharmacy Rep LeMed Pharmacy jackie.leroyrx@gmail.com
  20. John Buie Outreach and Engagement Bailey House jbuie@baileyhouse.org
  21. Jose Caraballo Senior Director, Community Relations Services for the Underserved (SUS) jcaraballo@sus.org
  22. Juan Roldan Medical Case Manager Brightpoint Health jroldan@brightpointhealth.org
  23. Katie Kantha LAS-Intern Legal Aid Society  Khantha@legalaid.org
  24. Kimberly Yu Project Director, Project INSPIRE Montefiore Medical Center kyu@montefiore.org
  25. Leanne Demery Program Specialist  BronxWorks ldemery@bronxworks.org
  26. Marisa Lelia Behavioral Science Instructor/Social Worker Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center Department of Family Medicine mlelia@bronxleb.org 
  27. Medesa Garrett HCV Coordinator Brightpoint Health mgarrett@brightpointhealth.org
  28. Michael Brown Peer Navigator BOOM!Health haneef2676@gmail.com
  29. Miguel Calderon Harm Reduction Supervisor BOOM!Health mcalderon@boomhealth.org
  30. Nirah Johnson Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  31. Rachel Donohue Patient Care Advocate  Kings Specialty Pharmacy rachel.d@kingsrx.com
  32. Rebekah Parsons Regional Account Manager OraSure Technologies Inc. rparsons@orasure.com
  33. Sheila Reynoso Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C Montefiore Medical Center  sreynoso@montefiore.org
  34. Steven Linick Pharmacy Rep Echo Pharmacy slinick@echospecialty.com
  35. Tammy Knoblauch Peer Educator Albert Einstein DoSA tammyknobs@yahoo.com  
  36. Tynisha Malone Supervisor  BOOM!Health tmalone@Boomhealth.org
  37. Umaima Khatun MPH Intern DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis ukhatun@health.nyc.gov
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2016 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp