Copy
Coordinating efforts to prevent, manage and treat Hep C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 


Harlem Hep C Task Force Meeting Highlights

December 10 (2:45 - 5 PM) - NBLCA - 215 W 125th St, Harlem 
In attendance: see below

Agenda


Welcome
Rick-Anthony Richards Jr, Harlem Hep C Task Force Chair, rarichards@nblca.org
C. Virginia Fields, President & CEO of NBLCA, cvafields@nblca.org 
Nirah Johnson, LCSW, NYC Health Dept, njohnson2@health.nyc.gov 

Project INSPIRE: Hep C Care Coordination
Marie Bresnahan, NYC Health Dept Project INSPIRE Director, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
Brooke Wyatt, Mount Sinai Project INSPIRE Program Director, brooke.wyatt@mssm.edu
  • Project Inspire is a CMS Health Care Innovations funded comprehensive care coordination program that aims to reduce Hep C related health complications and health care costs. 
  • The overall goals of Project Inspire is to provide treatment for hep C to Medicaid and Medicare patients; demonstrate better health outcomes; and demonstrate cost savings
  • To date, the program has enrolled 1,263 patients in the program
  • See slides online
New! HIV/HCV Treatment Program at the Institute for Advanced Medicine - Mount Sinai
Danielle Barnes, MPH, Program Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C
Institute for Advanced Medicine, danbarnes@CHPNET.org 
  • The Institute of Advanced Medicine is a patient-centered medical home comprised of six clinics across the highest-need areas of Manhattan.
  • The overall goal of the HIV/HCV Treatment Program is to deliver comprehensive care to HIV/HCV co-infected people live in NYC for the purpose of improving health outcomes.
  • The program is centered at the Morningside Clinic at 390 West 114th Street, 3rd floor New York, NY 10025
  • See slides online
NYC Hep C Advocacy Update
Carlos Rosario, Hepatitis Community Organizer, VOCAL-NY, carlos@vocal-ny.org
  • Carlos and VOCAL-NY is organizing a Hep C Legislative Awareness Day in Albany on February 9, 2016.  Email Carlos for more information and to register. carlos@vocal-ny.org
  • Contact Carlos if you would like for him to do a "Hep Talk" at your organization.
Hep Free NYC LGBTQ Initiative 
Daniel Calder, MPH, NYC Health Dept, dcalder@health.nyc.gov 
  • Hep Free NYC is launching a LGBTQ initiative
  • The goal of the initiative is to engage and unite the LGBTQ community in advancing viral hepatitis awareness, screening, and access to care through education, outreach, advocacy, and innovative projects.
  • To learn more about the initiative and provide your recommendations on creating the program, click here 
  • If you would like to participate, email Daniel at dcalder@health.nyc.gov
Hep Free NYC Patient Navigator Network 
Paul Bolter, American Liver Foundation PBolter@liverfoundation.org
  • Hep Free NYC is looking to strengthen to Patient Navigator Network. 
  • To provide recommendations on how to improve the network, complete our short survey here 
  • We will be holding a strategic planning meeting to develop the network in 2016.
  • The next meeting is January 27th, 2016 at the American Liver Foundation, from 3 - 5 PM.  To RSVP, click here

Training | Peers Providing Trauma Informed Care. Jan 13 & 14 (9:00am-4:30pm) AIDS Institute Education and Training Programs is offering a targeted course, Peers Providing Trauma Informed Care. The full-day training provides Peer Workers with an overview of the five principles of trauma-informed care; how to recognize the impacts of trauma on their clients; and how to prevent client re-traumatization. The course is open to HIV, HCV, and Harm Reduction Peer Workers. For more information and to register, click here

Training | Hepatitis C 101: Understanding Hepatitis C January 14 (9:00am-5:00pm) This training provides basic information about Hepatitis C. Core topics include clinical features of hepatitis, prevention, screening, management, care and existing community resources. To enable staff to effectively transfer current, accurate knowledge to their clients or patients about Hepatitis C. For more information and to register, click here

Training | Hepatitis C Rapid Point- Of- Care Testing Technologies  Mar 17 (9:00am-4:00pm) This training provides a demonstration of FDA-approved HIV and HCV point-of-care testing technologies and reviews the necessary quality assurance measures.  The training is open to clinical and non-clinical service providers involved in conducting HIV and HCV testing and in linking persons who test positive to medical care. For more information and to register, click here

Resources

HepCure - Mount Sinai Medical Center weekly Tele-education webinars, online and app-based resources, navigation, consultation, and support for both patients and providers. Watch expert webinars here

2013 NYC Hep B & C Surveillance Report. NYC Health Department's latest report containing key findings from hepatitis B and C surveillance data through 2013. View full report.

New Mobile Health Tools 

Text LIVER to 877 877
Learn about Hep B and C risk, find testing and treatment providers in your zip code of choice, and receive healthy liver tips! 

The NYC Liver Health App was developed by the NYC Health Department to provide hepatitis B and hepatitis C prevention, screening, care and treatment information and access tools to patients and providers. The NYC Liver Health App is available for free on iPhone and Android. Learn more and download at www.hepfree.nyc  
In attendance:
  1. Adisa Yamusah, Care Coordinator, Harlem United, ayamusah@harlemunited.org
  2. Andrew  Bonfrancesco, Supervisor, Positive Health Project, a.bonfrancesco@housingworks.org
  3. Anisha Lewin, Recruitment/Outreach Specialist, Bailey House, alewin@baileyhouse.org
  4. Anne  Brenner, Health System Executive, AbbVie, anne.brenner@abbvie.com
  5. Anthony Varikos, Pharmacist, Evers Pharmacy, anthony@eversrx.com
  6. Ariel  Caba, Intake Specialist, Harlem United, acaba@harlemunited.org
  7. Barney Robinson, Outreach Coordinator, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS Inc. (NBLCA), brobinson@nblca.org
  8. Brigitte Buquez​, Intern​, Hudson Pride Connections Center​, bk.buquez@gmail.com​
  9. Brooke Wyatt, Program Director, Mount Sinai Project Inspire, brooke.wyatt@mssm.edu
  10. C. Virginia Fields, President & CEO, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS Inc. (NBLCA), cvafields@nblca.org
  11. Camelia Larson, MPH Nursing Intern, Center for Comprehensive Heath Practicecolarson@cchphealthcare.org
  12. Carlos Rosario, Hepatitis Outreach Coordinator, VOCAL-NY, carlos@vocal-nyc.org
  13. Carol Nguyen, Therapeutic Specialist , Gilead, carol.nguyen@gilead.com
  14. Charles Gonzalez, MD, NYS DOH AIDS Institute cjg17@health.state.ny.us
  15. Cheriko Amour Boone, riko.boone@nyu.edu
  16. Chris Cruz, AbbVie, chris.cruz@abbvie.com
  17. Cinthia Castro, Patient Navigator , Harlem United, Ccastro@harlemunited.org
  18. Clifton Garman, Policy Analyst, VOCAL-NY, clifton@vocal-ny.org
  19. Daniel  Calder, Outreach Coordinator, DOHMH, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  20. Danielle Barnes, Project Coordinator, HIV/Hepatitis C, Institute for Advanced Medicine, danbarnes@chpnet.org
  21. David Baghdadi, Biotech Account Executive, CVS, david.baghdadi@cvshealth.com
  22. Evie Gauzon, Sr. Territory Manager, Bristol-Myer Squibb, Evie.gauzon@BMS.com
  23. Farma Pene, Hep B and C Patient Navigator, Bellevue HHC, farma.pene@bellevue.nychhc.org
  24. Frida Abramov, Medical Affairs, Gilead, Frida.abramov@gilead.com
  25. Genesis Ciprian, Patient Navigator, Mount Sinai Hospital , genesis.ciprian@mountsinai.org
  26. Geraldine Joseph, Physician Assistant, Mount  Sinai & Ryan Network, GJoseph@chpnet.org
  27. Jackie Acevedo-Villanueva, LeMed Pharmacy, jackie.leroyrx@gmail.com
  28. James Spellman, Senior Medical Scientist, Gilead, James.Spellman@gilead.com
  29. Jessica  Bonilla, Patient care advocate , Kings Specialty Pharmacy, jessica.b@kingsrx.com
  30. Jorge Reyes, Case Manager, BOOM!Health, jreyes@boomhealth.org
  31. Jozefa Cheman, Nursing Director, Center for Comprehensive Health Practice, jcheman@cchphealthcare.org
  32. M. Ndigo Washington, , mwashington@council.nyc.gov
  33. Malika Victory, QA & Info Systems Specialist, Center for Community Alternatives, mvictory@communityalternatives.org
  34. Malta  Cirino, Recruitment Specialist  , Bailey House, mcirino@baileyhouse.org
  35. Maria  Auciello, Advocacy and Community Based Programs    , WellCare Health Plans of New York, aria.auciello@wellcare.com
  36. Marie  Bresnahan, Project Director, DOHMH-Viral Hepatitis, mbresnahan@health.nyc.gov
  37. Marta Giammarino, Sales Rep, Kings Specialty  Pharmacy, marta.g@kingsrx.com
  38. Michelle Gadot, Director of Development and Communications, Center for Comprehensive Health Practice, mgadot@cchphealthcare.org
  39. Michelle Hardy, HIV Comm Liaison, Merck, michelle-hardy@merck.com
  40. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH - Viral Hepatitis, njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  41. Paul Bolter, Health Education, American Liver Foundation, pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  42. Rachel Donahue, Patient care adovcate , Kings Specialty Pharmacy, rachel.d@kingsrx.com
  43. Rappin Tate, Humanitarian Hip-Hop Artist , Christian in Business , chri.cib15@gmail.com
  44. Rick Anthony Richards, Program Coordinator , National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS Inc. (NBLCA), rarichards@nblca.org
  45. Serene Mastrianni, Hospital Account Manager, OraSure Technologies Inc., smastrianni@orasure.com
  46. Sharon Davis, Downstate Policy Advisor – Criminal Justice Services , NYS Office of Alcoholism & Substance Abuse Services, Sharon.davis@oasas.ny.gov
  47. Sonia Singh, African Services Committee, African Services Committee , sonias@africanservices.org
  48. Steven Linick,  Echo Pharmacy, slinick@echospecialty.com
  49. Steven  Chang,  NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, stc7003@nyo.org
  50. Trang Vu, physician, Project Inspire, Mount Sinai Hospital, trang.vu@mountsinai.org
  51. Tunisia  Allen, Regional Business Manager, City Drugs Specialty Pharmacy, tallen@citydrugsonline.com
  52. Vanessa  Austin, Sr. Public Health Educator, Harlem Hospital Center 
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2015 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp