Copy
Hep Free NYC is a network building capacity to prevent, manage and treat Hep B and C in NYC. HepFree.NYC #HepFreeNYC
Share
Tweet
Share

 

Queens Hep C Task Force
Meeting Highlights

June 22, 2016 (3 - 5 PM)
NYC Health Department 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City
In attendance: See Below

Participate in World Hepatitis Day!
July 28, 2016

If you are planning a World Hepatitis Day event, let us know! We will share your event on the Hep Free NYC Website, Facebook, Storify  and Twitter. To get involved in World Hepatitis Day, click here.

Welcome

Shellyann Vassell, RN, Chair of the Queens Hep C Task Force and Assistant Nurse Manager at Zucker Hillside Hospital (SVassell@northwell.edu)
Nirah Johnson & Daniel Calder, NYC Health Dept (njohnso2@health.nyc.gov) (dcalder@health.nyc.gov)

NYC Health Department Hep C Surveillance Update 
Angelica Bocour, Viral Hepatitis Surveillance Director, NYC Health Dept (abocour@health.nyc.gov)
  • There were 7,328 newly reported Hep C cases in 2015.
  • Almost two-thirds were male.
  • Half were born between 1945-1965.
  • The Hep C-related death rate is nearly the same as the HIV-related death rate in 2014.
  • View the full presentation.
The Fortune Society - Increasing HIV and Hep C Prevention, Screening, Treatment, and Care for Justice-Involved Individuals
Micaela Linder, The Fortune Society (mlinder@fortunesociety.org)
  • The Fortune Society helps incarcerated or formerly incarcerated people become positive, contributing members of society.
  • Services include housing, employment assistance, education, health services, and substance abuse treatment.
  • The Fortune Society has a provider toolkit that focuses on reducing HIV and Hep C transmission and improving treatment and care for justice-involved men and women.
Hep C Medical Care at Sandra Atlas Bass Center for Liver Diseases - Northwell Health
Susan Lee, PharmD, Northwell Health (skang@northwell.edu)
  • Has 4 hepatologists, 2 nurse practitioners, 1 pharmacist, and 1 registered nurse patient navigator.
  • Located at 300 Community Drive, 4 Levitt Manhasset NY, 11030.
  • Offering services in Rego Park at the Long Island Jewish Forest Hills Clinic (95-25 Queens Blvd, Rego Park, NY 11374)
  • To schedule an appointment, call 516-562-4664.
  • Has a 97% Hep C Medication coverage success rate, see a recent presentation on their Prior Authorization Tip here
  • View full presentation.
Hep B, Hep C and HIV Screening in Emergency Departments and Ambulatory Care at New York –Presbyterian/Queens Hospital
Jonathan Siegal, MD and Ming-der Chang, Ph.D., New York – Presbyterian/Queens Hospital (jos9186@nyp.org)
  • Purpose of this project is to increase routine testing among NewYork - Presbyterian/Queens Hospital patient population at the Emergency Department and Ambulatory care, and to link patients to care.
  • Created a multilingual informational script to guide physician assistants in offering tests to patients, and a special phone line for patients to call for test results.
  • Also produced posters and education materials for patients to learn more about Hepatitis.
  • 539 Hep C tests and 457 Hep B tests were performed from Jan 2016 to the middle of June. In all those tested, one patient had a positive Hep C RNA test and two patients tested positive for Hepatitis B.
Hep Free NYC Updates
Daniel Calder, NYC Health Department 
Resources

Press Release | NYC Health Department Highlights New Preliminary Data on Hepatitis B and C in Recognition of Hepatitis Awareness Month

NYC Health Dept Hep B & C Annual Report (2014). NYC Health Department's latest report containing key hepatitis B and C activities and surveillance data through 2014. View full report.

HepCure Webinar | Hep C Treatment for Substance Users

HepCap: NYS DOH funded Hep C care for the uninsured.

EpiQuery: NYC Health Dept online data portal.

Upcoming Events

Harm Reduction Peer Conference. July 22 (9 AM - 5 PM). Long Island City, NYC.
 
National African American Hep C Action Day. Monday, July 25 (All day). Organized by NBLCA.

Free Harlem Hep C Screening and Health Fair. Monday, July 25 (1:00 - 5:00 PM) COPE, Prevent Cancer Foundation, and HCMSG.

World Hepatitis Day. July 28. (All day)
 
In Attendance:
  1. Angelica Bocour, Viral Hepatitis Surveillance Director, NYC DOHMH, abocour@health.nyc.gov
  2. Ari Bunim MD, Hepatologist, NY Hospital Queens,ari.bunim@gmail.com
  3. Barbra Villano, Sales Representative,  AbbVie, Barbra.villano@abbvie.com
  4. Bo Kwok, Executive Therapeutic Specialist, Gilead Sciences, bo.kwok@gilead.com
  5. Chih Hsin Chiang, Patient Navigator,  New York – Presbyterian/Queens Hospital, chc9254@nyp.org
  6. Cori Hammond, Intern, The Fortune Society,  chammond@fortunesociety.org
  7. Daniel Leyva, Deputy to the President,  Latino Commission on AIDS, dleyva@latinoaids.org
  8. Daniel Calder, Outreach Coordinator, DOHMH, dcalder@health.nyc.gov
  9. Dennis Camacho, Peer Supervisor, AIDS Center of Queens County  
  10. Diana Diaz Munoz, MPH - Hep C Peer Navigation Program Manager, NYC Dept of Health Viral Hepatitis Program - ddiazmunoz@health.nyc.gov
  11. Eric Driver, Associate Manager of CTR/Outreach/Hep C, AIDS Service Center NYC, eric@ascnyc.org
  12. Esther Fan Melton, Intern, The Fortune Society,  emelton@stanford.edu
  13. Gail Brown, Policy Advocate, COPE, gbrown.cope@gmail.com
  14. Heather Anderson, Associate Director|FOCUS Regional Lead, New York City Gilead, Heather.anderson2@gilead.com
  15. Jessica Reinhart, Assistant Director of Community Outreach,  AIDS Healthcare Foundation,  jessica.reinhart@aidshealth.org
  16. Jonathan Siegal  MD,  New York – Presbyterian/Queens Hospital, jos9186@nyp.org
  17. Jose Caraballo, Senior Director, Community Relations Services for the Underserved (SUS), jcaraballo@sus.org
  18. Leanne Demery, Program Specialist,  BronxWorks, ldemery@bronxworks.org
  19. Maria Madrid, Harm Reduction,  AIDS Service Center, Maria@ascnyc.org
  20. Megan Haseltine, Health Program Administrator, NYS DOH AIDS Institute, megan.haseltine@health.state.ny.us
  21. Melissa Ip, MA, Communications Coordinator, NYC Health Dept Viral Hepatitis Program (mip@health.nyc.gov)
  22. Micaela Linder, Health Policy Researcher/Educator, The Fortune Society,  mlinder@fortunesoiety.org
  23. Ming-der Chang, Sr. Director, Community Health Initiatives, New York – Presbyterian/Queens Hospital, mic9166@nyp.org
  24. Nathalie Abejero, Assistant Director, HIV Services, Central Office NYC Health + Hospitals, nathalie.abejero@nychhc.org
  25. Nick Picarelli, HCV Community Specialist,  Gilead, nick.picarelli@gilead.com
  26. Nirah Johnson, Director of Program Implementation & Capacity Building, DOHMH,  njohnso2@health.nyc.gov
  27. Paul Bolter, Health Education, American Liver Foundation, pbolter@liverfoundation.org
  28. Paula Wong, Educational Outreach Director, H+EAL, paula.w.wong@gmail.com
  29. Robert Desrouleauz, Community Liason,  Hepatitis C Mentor and Support group, contactrobertd@gmail.com
  30. Shellyann Vassell, RN, Chair of the Queens Hep C Task Force and Assistant Nurse Manager at Zucker Hillside Hospital (SVassell@northwell.edu)
  31. Shirley Mei, Intern,  American Liver Foundation  
  32. Susan Lee, PharmD Northwell Health, skang@northwell.edu
  33. Vanne-Paige Padgett, Outreach/Intake Coordinator, Safe Space-Sheltering Arms, Vpadgett@safespacenyc.org
Join our network!
Subscribe to Meeting Invites or Newsletter

Follow on Social Media
NYC Liver Health
@hepfreenyc
Hep Free NYC
Share
Tweet
Share
Copyright © 2016 Hep Free NYC, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp